Advertisement

'I didn't dive, but it was a soft penalty,' admits Long

The Hull City and Ireland striker was criticised after their win over his former club employees West Brom.

Long goes down in the West Brom box.
Long goes down in the West Brom box.
Image: YouTube screengrab

SHANE LONG HAS dismissed claims that he dived to earn Hull City a penalty during their 2-0 win over his former club West Brom on Saturday.

The Ireland striker appeared to go over easy after slight contact was made in the box by Baggies defender Craig Dawson before Ben Foster saved Nikica Jelavic’s spot-kick and Liam Rosenior followed up for the opener.

Long, who joined the Tigers from West Brom in January, added a second seven minutes later to help Steve Bruce’s side move five points clear of their opponents.

Bruce was quick to defend his player after the final whistle and Long insists he wasn’t looking for a penalty.

I didn’t dive, he clipped my heel,” Long told hullcitytigers.com. “He didn’t mean to do it and I thought it was a soft penalty. I got up straightaway and tried to play on, but the referee judged it to be a penalty.

“I’m sure the West Brom players and fans were frustrated with it, but he has clipped me and the referee did what he had to do.”

Source: Jonas Hermansen

The Tipperary native also refused to celebrate scoring against his old club but says he very nearly forgot: “It was a nice moment. I told myself that I wouldn’t celebrate, but I almost forgot myself.

“I took a few steps and then remembered who I was playing against.”

Read the full interview on Hull’s website here

VIDEO: Paddy Madden scores a delightful volley for Scunthorpe

5 things we learned from last night’s El Clásico

About the author:

Ben Blake

Read next:

COMMENTS (5)