This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 5 °C Thursday 14 November, 2019

Shels pair cap memorable 12 months with Player of the Year double

The superb form of Noelle Murray and Leanne Kiernan has been recognised by the WNL.

Noelle Murray starred for Shelbourne Ladies in 2016.
Noelle Murray starred for Shelbourne Ladies in 2016.
Image: Cody Glenn/SPORTSFILE

SHELBOURNE LADIES DUO Noelle Murray and Leanne Kiernan have capped a memorable 12 months by claiming Continental Tyres Women’s National League Senior and Young Player of the Year respectively.

Murray beat Kiernan and UCD Waves’ Karen Duggan to the top accolade, after she helped Shels to their first league and cup double.

Meanwhile, 17-year-old Kiernan also gained recognition, following 12 months in which she hit a hat-trick in the Women’s Senior Cup final amid a 5-0 defeat of Wexford Youths, while the Cavan native also made her Ireland debut.

In addition, Peamount United striker Amber Barrett took home the Irish Daily Mail Golden Boot, after scoring 16 goals for her side, who finished third in the league.

Following today’s news, Murray expressed her delight at receiving the honour.

It’s a great feeling to be named Senior Player of the Year and delighted to pick up the award.

“It’s definitely the best moment of my career so far and it’s been a great year for me with this fantastic Shelbourne team. I couldn’t have done it without them so a big thanks has to go to all my team-mates and staff.

The youth the football club has produced and is currently producing is unbelievable. I’m sure Shelbourne will continue to grow from strength to strength in the Champions League next season.”

Kiernan and Murray were also among five Shelbourne players to feature in the Women’s National League Team of the Year.

The full Continental Tyres Women’s National League Team of the Year: Amanda McQuillan (Shelbourne Ladies), Jetta Berrill (UCD Waves), Pearl Slattery (Shelbourne Ladies), Chloe Moloney (Galway WFC), Niamh Prior (UCD Waves), Karen Duggan (UCD Waves), Roma McLaughlin (Peamount United), Noelle Murray (Shelbourne Ladies), Leanne Kiernan (Shelbourne Ladies), Amber Barrett (Peamount United), Siobhan Killeen (Shelbourne Ladies).

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Ex-Bolton and West Ham midfielder Kevin Nolan appointed manager of League Two club>

Morgan Schneiderlin completes €23million move to Everton>

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Paul Fennessy

Read next: