This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 9 °C Friday 5 June, 2020

Here's the draw for next season's Sigerson and Fitzgibbon Cups

Sigerson champions DIT will kick-off their title defence against St Mary’s in 2014.

DIT: won their first Sigerson in 2013.
DIT: won their first Sigerson in 2013.
Image: INPHO/Donall Farmer

DIT WILL BEGIN the defence of their Sigerson Cup title against St Mary’s.

The Dubliners won their maiden third level title this year and will bid to become the first team to defend the cup since IT Sligo in 2004/2005.

Last year’s beaten finalists UCC open their campaign against Trinity while DCU will face the winner of the preliminary round match between NUIG and Tralee.

NUI Maynooth, who have reigning Footballer of the Year Michael Dara MacAuley in their ranks next season, begin against IT Blanchardstown.

The draw for the group stages of the Fitzgibbon Cup was also made this morning pitting champions UCC against WIT, IT Carlow and St Pat’s.

Eddie Enright’s side will be gunning for three-in-a-row in 2014 after they beat Mary I to retain their title earlier this year.

Sigerson Cup 2014

Preliminary Round

  • IT Tralee v NUIG
  • Queens v UL

First Round

  • GMIT v UL/Queens
  • IT Blanchardstown v NUIM
  • Trinity v UCC
  • Cork IT v IT Carlow
  • DIT v St Mary’s
  • UUJ v IT Sligo
  • Athlone IT v UCD
  • NUIG/Tralee v DCU

2014 Fitzgibbon Cup

  • Group A: UCC, WIT, IT Carlow, St Pats
  • Group B: UL, UCD, Mary I
  • Group C: CIT, LIT, GMIT
  • Group D: NUIG, DCU, DIT

‘It’s probably as good as you’re going to get’ – Noel McGrath’s hectic autumn and historic double

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Niall Kelly

Read next: