This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 8 °C Friday 10 July, 2020

Comer, McCarthy, Forde and Cleary amongst the inter-county stars honoured in Sigerson and Fitzgibbon teams of the year

UCD and UL were this season’s third-level champions.

THIRD-LEVEL CHAMPIONS UCD and UL lead the way in the teams selected to honour the standout players in this year’s Sigerson and Fitzgibbon Cups.

pjimage Comer, McCarthy, Forde and Cleary were all recognised. Source: INPHO

Champions UCD have five players in the Sigerson selection with four players from runners-up NUI Galway included.

Galway’s Damien Comer, Monaghan’s Conor McCarthy, Kerry’s Jack Barry, Tipperary’s Liam Casey and Tyrone’s Mark Bradley are amongst the inter-county footballers named.

In hurling there are seven players from kingpins UL selected with beaten finalists DCU having four players included on the side.

Clare’s Conor Cleary, Tipperary duo Jason Forde and John McGrath, Kilkenny’s John Donnelly and Dublin’s Eoghan O’Donnell are some of the hurlers selected.

Stephen Coen lifts The Sigerson Cup UCD celebrate their Sigerson Cup final win over NUI Galway.

John McGrath lifts the cup UL captain John McGrath lifts the Fitzgibbon Cup after their final victory over DCU. Source: Ken Sutton/INPHO

Rising Stars Football Team 2017

1. Tadhg O’Malley (Galway – NUI Galway)

2. Andrew McGowan (Dublin – Dublin IT)
3. Brian Power (Meath – Dublin IT)
4. Sean Mulkerrin (Galway – NUI Galway)

5. Conor Mullally (Dublin – UCD)
6. Gareth McKinless (Derry – UUJ)
7. Michael McKernan (Tyrone – UUJ)

8. Jack Barry (Kerry – UCD)
9. Liam Casey (Tipperary – UCD)

10. Enda Tierney (Galway – NUI Galway)
11. Conor McCarthy (Monaghan – UCD)
12. Liam Carey (Kerry – Mary Immaculate College)

13. Mark Bradley (Tyrone – UUJ)
14. Damien Comer (Galway – NUI Galway)
15. Evan O’Carroll (Laois – UCD)

Rising Stars Hurling Team 2017

1. David McCarthy (Limerick – UL)

2. Conor Cleary (Clare – UL)
3. Eoghan O’Donnell (Dublin – DCU DE)
4. Seán Finn (Limerick – UL)

5. Gearóid Hegarty (Limerick – UL)
6. Brian Hogan (Tipperary – Maynooth University)
7. David Fitzgerald (Clare – UL)

8. Colin Dunford (Waterford – Carlow IT)
9. Joe O’Connor (Wexford – DCU DE)

10. John Donnelly (Kilkenny – DCU DE)
11. Martin Kavanagh (Carlow – Carlow IT)
12. Donal Burke (Dublin – DCU DE)

13. Niall O’Brien (Westmeath – Dublin IT)
14. Jason Forde (Tipperary – UL)
15. John McGrath (Tipperary – UL)


An earlier version of this article stated Colin Dunford was from Laois. This has now been corrected to Waterford.

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Tipperary and Limerick ring the changes as they aim to revive Munster minor football season

‘With all due respect to people, their opinions don’t count. Our opinions count. That’s it’

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel