Champions set for repeat of 2019 fixtures as Clare senior draws are made

Davy Fitzgerald’s Sixmilebridge will take on Éire Óg in their senior hurling opener.

Davy Fitzgerald and Noel Purcell celebrate Sixmilebridge's senior title win last year.
Davy Fitzgerald and Noel Purcell celebrate Sixmilebridge's senior title win last year.
Image: Lorraine O’Sullivan/INPHO

REIGNING CLARE CHAMPIONS Sixmilebridge will face a repeat of last year’s quarter-final tie in their opening round tie in the 2020 senior hurling championship in the Banner county.

Sixmilebridge, who will have Davy Fitzgerald involved again this year as he combines it with his Wexford senior role, were drawn against Éire Óg in this evening’s draw. The title holders won 3-16 to 1-19 in their quarter-final meeting in 2019.

Cratloe, beaten finalists for the last two years, will meet Kilmaley in their clash while Ballyea, who have won two of the last four county crowns, were paired with last season’s semi-finalists Crusheen.

ClareSHC Source: Clare GAA


The standout tie at the start of the Clare senior football championship will be a repeat of last year’s final between St Joseph’s Miltown-Malbay and Kilmurry-Ibrickane.

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

St Joseph’s won last year’s decider by 0-12 to 0-8 in a replay success that ensured they retained their crown and clinched their third triumph in five campaigns.



The senior hurling action is set to commence on 31 July with the football schedule beginning on 7 August. It is planned to hold the senior finals in both codes on the weekend of 26-27 September.

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel