This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 22 °C Thursday 16 July, 2020

Here are the 6 nominees for Irish sports book of the year

Books on Paul O’Connell, Jason McAteer and John Kavanagh have made the cut.

THE SIX NOMINEES for the Bord Gáis Energy Sports Book of the Year have been confirmed.

Books on Paul O’Connell, Jason McAteer and John Kavanagh feature on the shortlist, with the winner set to be announced at a ceremony on 16 November.

In addition to the prize for best sports book, there are 15 categories in total spanning different literary genres.

Previous winners of the awards, include Seven Deadly Sins by David Walsh and The Test by Brian O’Driscoll, while Until Victory Always: A Memoir by Jim McGuinness won the prize last year.

The awards’ official site states that the winners are “decided by an online web-poll divided into two constituencies, a public vote and a specialist Academy vote, weighted equally and combined to produce the winners”.

You can vote for your favourite sports book, among other categories, here.

The following six books have been nominated.

  • Win or Learn: John Kavanagh – Paul Dollery
  • The Battle: Paul O’Connell – Paul O’Connell
  • Blood, Sweat & McAteer – Jason McAteer
  • Coolmore Stud – Alan Conway
  • My Life In Rugby – Donal Lenihan
  • Out Of Control – Cathal McCarron with Christy O’Connor

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

France Football explain why Eden Hazard was left off Ballon d’Or shortlist>

Double boost for Connacht as Bundee Aki and Ultan Dillane sign new contracts>

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Paul Fennessy

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel