Dublin: 11°C Monday 27 September 2021

County star Graham Reilly and ex-Munster flanker Niall Ronan help Meath club to Leinster title

St Colmcille’s needed a last-gasp free to see off Rosemount in the Leinster IFC final.

Image: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

A LAST MINUTE free from Ben Brennan secured the Leinster IFC club title for Meath side St Colmcille’s yesterday.

Westmeath champions Rosemount, aided by a 38th minute goal from David McCormack, looked set for victory when they retook the lead with seven minutes remaining.

But Colmcille’s held their nerve and with county star Graham Reilly in fine scoring form, they did just about enough to bring the trophy home.

Colmcille’s led by 0-8 to 0-5 at the interval, thanks to a flurry of scores from teenager James Conlon, Brennan and Reilly.

Rosemount narrowed the gap in the second-half with McCormack’s goal, but Gerry Hickey’s side failed to lead by more than a point despite their superiority.

In a frantic closing ten minutes, the game was tied when Brennan floated over the winner from a placed ball, 25 yards out.

Reilly scored 0-4 from play while Brennan kicked three important frees for the victors, including that last-gasp winner. Former Munster flanker Niall Ronan played a full 60 minutes in the full-forward line.

Colmcille’s now have an All-Ireland series to look forward to after Christmas, before they return to senior ranks in Meath.

Scorers for St Colmcille’s: Ben Brennan (3f) 0-5; Graham Reilly 0-4; James Conlon 0-3; Ciaran Kelly (f) 0-1.

Scorers for Rosemount: David (Dude) McCormack (2f) 1-2; Boidu Sayeh (2f) 0-3; Andy McCormack 0-2; Declan Mullen and David (DD) McCormack (f) 0-1 each.

St Colmcille’s

Jordan Browne

Adam Lynch
Jamie McDonnell
Ciaran Ward

Eoin Woods
Ian Mullen
Joe Sweeney

Graham Reilly
Robbie McCloskey

Ciaran Kelly
Ben Brennan
David O’Byrne

David Sheeran
Niall Ronan
James Conlon.


Conor O’Byrne for D O’Byrne
Jack Reynolds for C Kelly


Eoin Carberry

Damien Carroll
Eamon Boland
Darren King

Andy McCormack
Enda Boland
Boidu Sayeh

David (DD) McCormack
Israel Ilunga

Luke Kelly
Theo Watts
TJ Fox

David Tone
Declan Mullen
David (Dude) McCormack.


David Maylnn for L Kelly
Plunkett Maxwell for TJ Fox
Cathal Daly for D (Dude) McCormack

Referee: S Mulhare (Laois).

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

‘Going for three senior provincial titles in one year, it’s hard to explain what that means’

The men from the valley eyeing Dr Crokes scalp as they attempt to scale new heights

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel