Thursday 2 February 2023 Dublin: 9°C
INPHO/Dan Sheridan Ballymun Kickhams Kevin Leahy (right) with Paul Cunningham of St Judes.
# Report
Ballymun Kickhams overcome St Jude's to book Dublin SFC final spot
The current holders earned a six-point win in difficult conditions this evening.

Ballymun Kickhams 0-15
St Jude’s 0-9

IT WASN’T ALWAYS pretty but holders Ballymun Kickhams won’t care as they comfortably returned to the Dublin SFC final.

County man and free-taker Dean Rock shot eight points for last season’s beaten All-Ireland finalists while Ted Furman weighed in with four from play.

Paul Curran’s side will return to Parnell Park on Sunday for the final and remain in line to also defend their provincial crown.

But it wasn’t a game for the purists with both sides guilty of wasteful play, errant kicking and poor passing in windy conditions.

Dublin super sub Kevin McManamon was Judes’ most high profile player but scored just a single point from open play. That came in the fourth minute when he opened the scoring.

But Ballymun quickly levelled it up and moved ahead thanks to back to back Rock frees and never trailed after that.

They led 0-8 to 0-6 at half-time thanks to four converted Rock frees and three fine Furman points.

Ballymun ultimately took control with points from Furman and Rock to open up a five-point 0-12 to 0-7 lead by the three quarter mark.

And the north-side outfit made a decisive burst for the finish with three points in the final 10 minutes.

Rock delivered his only point from play while sub John Small and veteran Derek Byrne were also on the mark.

BALLYMUN KICKHAMS: S Currie; P McMahon, S George, E Dolan; A Hubbard, K Connolly, J Burke; Davey Byrne, J McCarthy; E Reilly, D Rock (0-8; 7f), K Leahy (0-1); A O’Brien, T Furman (0-4), Derek Byrne (0-1).

Subs: J Small (0-1) for Reilly h/t, C Burke for O’Brien 46, F Andrews for Leahy 62.

ST JUDE’S: J Carty; C McBride, G Roche, R Finnegan; N Cronin, C Guckian, T McKeon (0-1); C Murphy, P Cunningham; M Sweeney (0-1), R O’Brien (0-1), R Joyce; D Donnelly, P McGuire (0-1), K McManamon (0-5; 4f).

Subs: B McManamon for O’Brien 50, G McManus for Donnelly 54, E Dalton for Joyce 54.

Referee: J King

Canning, Smith and Hayes fire goals as Portumna win Galway hurling final

Portumna and Loughrea players in tribute to Niall Donoghue

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment

    Leave a commentcancel