Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 10°C Wednesday 30 September 2020

St Pat's crowned Airtricity League champions following win over Sligo

It’s the eighth time in total in which the Dublin side have won the trophy.

Anto Flood of Pat's celebrates scoring his side's second goal of the game.
Anto Flood of Pat's celebrates scoring his side's second goal of the game.

ST PATRICK’S ATHLETIC were confirmed as Airtricity League champions thanks to a 2-0 victory against Sligo Rovers at Richmond Park today.

The visitors threatened to spoil the party atmosphere, as they were on top early on, however a fantastic strike from Greg Bolger from the edge of the box settled any early nerves that the hosts may have been feeling.

Anthony Flood then doubled his side’s advantage just before half-time, tapping home from John Russell’s cross.

Although the visitors came close once or twice in the second half, it was relatively plain sailing thereafter for the hosts, as Pat’s sealed their victory and a first league title in 14 years.

Meanwhile, in today’s other Airtricity League game, Bray Wanderers beat Limerick 1-0 thanks to a Danny O’Connor header on the brink of half-time.

Like football? Follow’s dedicated Twitter account @football_ie>

LOI wrap: Dundalk denied by Bohemians, Rovers and Derry ends in stalemate>

Keane resumes full training, King hopeful he’ll be available for Kazakh clash>

About the author:

Paul Fennessy

Read next: