Wednesday 8 February 2023 Dublin: 6°C
St Vincent's Twitter. Champions: St Vincent's.
# Capital gains
Third time lucky as Dublin's St Vincent's dethrone St Martin's to lift Leinster crown
The Marino outfit edged out last season’s All-Ireland finalists in today’s replay.

St Vincent’s (Dublin) 2-11

St Martin’s (Wexford) 2-9

DUBLIN KINGPINS ST Vincent’s have been crowned Leinster AIB senior club camogie champions after beating defending champions St Martin’s of Wexford.

A replay was required to separate the sides after their 0-10 a-piece draw last weekend, and it was third time lucky in the Leinster decider for the Marino outfit as they ended last season’s All-Ireland finalists’ campaign.

Today was St Vincent’s third senior final in five years — they had lost the last two by a single point. It comes as their first provincial crown since 1998.

Germaine Noonan’s Dubliners had the dream start at Carlow IT as an Alison Maguire free and an Ellen McGovern goal had them 1-1 to 0-0 up after just two minutes.

Wexford star Chloe Foxe stepped up to lead the St Martin’s charge with several well-taken points and a bullet of a goal from there, bringing her side level at 1-5 a-piece with 21 minutes played.

Maguire and Amy Cardiff traded points just before the break, leaving for a big second half. Vincent’s came back out all guns blazing, but were soon stopped in their tracks as Foxe had the ball in the back of the net.

Referee John Dermody overruled the goal, however, deeming it to be a square ball.

Things went from bad to worse for JJ Doyle’s charges in the final 10 minutes as a Niamh Hetherton pointed effort deceived Mags D’Arcy between the posts and pushed St Vincent’s into a 2-9 to 1-7 lead.

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

Maguire kept the scoreboard ticking over as the clock ran down, while St Martin’s missed a few chances. In the five additional minutes, they grabbed a second goal but it was too little, too late as the game ended 2-11 to 2-9.

On they go, as just the second Dublin club to win Leinster since Ballyboden in 2008.

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment

    Leave a commentcancel