Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 8°C Saturday 15 May 2021

Waterford’s Stephen Bennett named U21 player of the year

Meanwhile, Meath’s Gavin McGowan claimed the Player of the Year award for the ‘B’ championship.

Waterford’s Stephen Bennett has been named U21 player of the year.
Waterford’s Stephen Bennett has been named U21 player of the year.
Image: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

WATERFORD’S STEPHEN BENNETT has been named Bord Gáis Energy Player of the Year, overcoming strong competition from teammates Austin Gleeson and Patrick Curran in the process.

Bennett is the first player from Waterford to receive the accolade since the awards began in 2013, following in the footsteps of Limerick’s Richie English, who won last year.

Meanwhile, Meath’s Gavin McGowan claimed the Player of the Year award for the ‘B’ championship after a display that saw him named man of the match in the final against Mayo.

Bord Gáis Energy Sports Ambassador Ger Cunningham paid tribute to the duo following the news, saying:  “It’s becoming more and more difficult to single out one individual as Bord Gáis Energy Player of the Year given the standard of performances we’re seeing. The three nominees for the ‘A’ award all deserved serious consideration and it was a very tough choice.

“However, as a judging panel, we felt that Stephen’s consistent performances, embellished by some absolutely breath-taking moments of skill, meant he just pipped his fellow Waterford men to the post.

“Gavin was Meath’s star performer in the ‘B’ final. He was one of the key reasons that they overcame Mayo and made up for last year’s final defeat. He’s thoroughly deserving of the award.”

Bennett also claimed the Score of the Year accolade for his goal against Galway in the All-Ireland final, with the effort enhanced by a terrific ‘no-look’ pass from Patrick Curran in the build up.

The awards in full were as follows…

Bord Gáis Energy U-21 Player of the Year
Stephen Bennett (Waterford)

Bord Gáis Energy U-21 ‘B’ Player of the Year
Gavin McGowan (Meath)

Bord Gáis Energy Score of the Year
Patrick Curran/Stephen Bennett All-Ireland Final Waterford v Galway

2016 Bord Gáis Energy Team of the Year
1. Jordan Henley (Waterford)
2. Conor Gleeson (Waterford)
3. Eoghan O’Donnell (Dublin)
4. Darragh Lyons (Waterford)
5. Michéal Harney (Waterford)
6. Austin Gleeson (Waterford)
7. Shane Barrett (Dublin)
8. Dan Nevin (Galway)
9. Ronan Lynch (Limerick)
10. Shane Bennett (Waterford)
11. Brian Molloy (Galway)
12. Andrew Coffey (Tipperary)
13. Patrick Curran (Waterford)
14. Stephen Bennett (Waterford)
15. Niall Mitchell (Westmeath)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Rob Hennelly back on form as Mayo senior football quarter-final line-up now complete>

Red-hot Ballyhale and Rower-Inistioge book Kilkenny senior hurling semi-final places>

About the author:

Paul Fennessy

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel