Tottenham's teenager Parrott included as Stephen Kenny names exciting first Ireland U21 squad

The new Ireland U21 boss named his squad for this month’s Uefa U21 European Championship qualifier against Luxembourg.

Aaron Gallagher reports from FAI HQ, Abbotstown

STEPHEN KENNY HAS announced his first competitive squad as the new Ireland U21 manager with his side preparing to face Luxembourg on 24 March at Tallaght Stadium.

Ireland have been drawn into Group One alongside Italy, Sweden, Iceland, Armenia and Luxembourg for the upcoming Uefa U21 European Championship qualifying campaign.

Tottenham’s 17-year-old striker Troy Parrott receives his first U21 international call-up, while there are eight League of Ireland footballers included in Kenny’s 22-man squad.

Troy Parrott celebrates scoring their first goal with teammates Parrott (right) has received his first U21 call-up.

Liverpool duo Caoimhin Kelleher and Conor Masterson, Man United’s Lee O’Connor and Man City goalkeeper Gavin Bazunu have also received call-ups.

Simon Power, currently on loan at Dutch second tier side FC Dordrecht from Norwich City, and Connor Ronan, who plays for Slovakian side FC DAC 1904 on loan from Wolves, will also report for the squad on Monday 18 March.

Kenny was appointed U21 boss at the end of November, succeeding Noel King, and will take over as senior boss from Mick McCarthy after the conclusion of Euro 2020 in 16 months’ time.

The former Dundalk boss, who led the Lilywhites to a Premier Division and FAI Cup double last season, named a home-based squad back in January, with the side beating the Irish Amateurs 1-0.

This month’s qualifier against Luxembourg will represent the 47-year-old’s first competitive game in charge as he tries to become the first Ireland U21 manager to qualify for a European Championships.

Republic of Ireland U21 squad v Luxembourg

Goalkeepers: Caoimhin Kelleher (Liverpool), Gavin Bazunu (Manchester City)

Defenders: Darragh Leahy (Bohemians), Dara O’Shea (Exeter City, on loan from West Bromwich Albion), Barry Cotter (Ipswich Town), Corey Ndaba (Ipswich Town), Conor Masterson (Liverpool), Lee O’Connor (Manchester United), Trevor Clarke (Shamrock Rovers), Liam Scales (UCD AFC)

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

Midfielders: Jayson Molumby (Brighton and Hove Albion), Jake Doyle Hayes (Cambridge United, on loan from Aston Villa), Connor Ronan (FC DAC 1904, on loan from Wolverhampton Wanderers), Jamie Lennon (St. Patrick’s Athletic), Conor Coventry (West Ham United), Dan Mandroiu (Bohemians)

Attackers: Adam Idah (Norwich City), Troy Parrott (Tottenham Hotspur), Neil Farrugia (UCD AFC), Zach Elbouzedi (Waterford), Michael O’Connor (Linfield), Simon Power (FC Dordrecht, on loan from Norwich City)

Subscribe to our new podcast, The42 Rugby Weekly, here:

About the author:

Aaron Gallagher

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel