Dublin: 8°C Thursday 27 January 2022

Stephen Molumphy set to miss Waterford's 2013 campaign

Last year’s captain will be unavailable to the Déise squad as a result of his work commitments.

Waterford hurler Stephen Molumphy.
Waterford hurler Stephen Molumphy.
Image: INPHO/Cathal Noonan

STEPHEN MOLUMPHY WILL miss Waterford’s 2013 hurling campaign due to Army duty.

Last year’s captain will be unavailable to the Déise squad as a result of his work commitments and the absence of the Ballyduff Upper player is a huge blow to manager Michael Ryan.

Ryan confirmed that he will have to plan without Molumphy when speaking to radio station Beat 102-103 earlier today.

But the veteran duo of John Mullane and Tony Browne have been named in the county’s 35-man provisional panel for the year ahead. It is hoped the De La Salle attacker and the Mount Sion defender will be in a position to commit to the setup.

The Ballygunner pair of Shane and Brian O’Sullivan are welcome returns to the squad after they spent last summer in the USA while there are 12 newcomers to the panel.

Lismore trio Seanie Barry, Paudie Prendergast and Ray Barry, Dungarvan’s Shane Kearney, the Passage pair of Killian Fitzgerald and Noel Wyse, De La Salle trio Eoin Madigan, Eddie Barrett and Jake Dillon, Ballygunner’s Barry Coughlin, Fourmilewater’s Jamie Barron and An Rinn’s Donie Breathnach are the new faces.

Ballygunner – Stephen O’Keeffe, Barry Coughlin, Brian O’Sullivan, Shane O’Sullivan, Pauric Mahony.
Mount Sion – Ian O’Regan, Martin O’Neill, Tony Browne.
Lismore – Seanie Barry, Maurice Shanahan, Paudie Prendergast, Ray Barry.
Dungarvan – Jamie Nagle, Gavin Crotty, Shane Kearney.
Passage – Mark Wyse, Noel Connors, Killian Fitzgerald.
De La Salle – Dean Twomey, Eddie Barrett, Stephen Daniels, Kevin Moran, John Mullane, Jake Dillon, Eoin Madigan.
Ardmore – Seamus Prendergast.
Fourmilewater – Liam Lawlor, Shane Walsh, Jamie Barron.
Tourin – Darragh Fives.
Stradbally – Michael Walsh.
Roanmore – Gavin O’Brien.
An Rinn – Donie Breathnach.
Clashmore/Kinsalebeg – Brian O’Halloran.
Abbeyside – Richie Foley.

It’s back: The inter-county GAA season returns this weekend

Dessie Dolan returns to Westmeath team

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: