8 awards for Tyrone as Sunday Game football team of the year is named

Kieran McGeary was chosen as the Footballer of the Year.

Tyrone players celebrate their victory.
Tyrone players celebrate their victory.
Image: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

Updated Sep 12th 2021, 7:00 AM

CHAMPIONS TYRONE LEAD the way with eight players honoured in The Sunday Game Football Team of the Year which was named last night.

The Ulster and All-Ireland champions have eight players selected, while there are four from beaten finalists Mayo, two from Kerry and one from Dublin.

Goalkeeper Niall Morgan was picked along with four defenders – Pádraig Hampsey, Niall Sludden, Kieran McGeary and Peter Harte – from Tyrone. Midfielder Conn Kilpatrick and the attacking duo of Conor Meyler and Darren McCurry completed the Tyrone representation.

Lee Keegan, Patrick Durcan, Matthew Ruane and Tommy Conroy were the four Mayo players chosen. The Clifford brothers, Paudie and David, were the Kerry players that got the nod with Dublin’s Ciarán Kilkenny completing the line-up.

Kieran McGeary was chosen as the Footballer of the Year by the RTÉ panel.

2021 The Sunday Game Team of the Year

1. Niall Morgan (Tyrone)

2. Paddy Durcan (Mayo), 3. Lee Keegan (Mayo), 4. Padraig Hampsey (Tyrone)

5. Niall Sludden (Tyrone), 6. Kieran McGeary (Tyrone), 7. Peter Harte (Tyrone)

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

8. Matthew Ruane (Mayo), 9. Conn Kilpatrick (Tyrone)

10. Conor Meyler (Tyrone), 11. Paudie Clifford (Kerry), 12. Ciaran Kilkenny (Dublin)

13. Darren McCurry (Tyrone), 14. David Clifford (Kerry), 15. Tommy Conroy (Mayo)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel