This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 12 °C Tuesday 11 August, 2020

The Sunday Game pundits name their 2017 Hurling Team of the Year

Champions Galway dominate the team as expected.

ALL-IRELAND CHAMPIONS Galway dominate the Sunday Game panel’s team of the year, following today’s win against Waterford in the decider.

The panel — consisting of Anthony Daly, Michael Duignan, Brendan Cummins, Eddie Brennan, Tomas Mulcahy, Jackie Tyrrell and Cyril Farrell — also unanimously selected Galway centre-back Gearóid McInerney as the Hurler of the Year.

The team is made up of eight players from champions Galway, four from runners-up Waterford, two from beaten semi-finalists Cork and one from fellow last four side Tipperary.

Here are the selections in full.

The Sunday Game’s Hurling Team of the Year

1. Anthony Nash (Cork)

2. Adrian Tuohy (Galway)
3. Daithí Burke (Galway)
4. Noel Connors (Waterford)

5. Pádraic Mannion (Galway)
6. Gearóid McInerney (Galway)
7. Padraic Maher (Tipperary)

8. Jamie Barron (Waterford)
9. David Burke (Galway)

10. Kevin Moran (Waterford)
11. Joe Canning (Galway)
12. Michael ‘Brick’ Walsh (Waterford)

13. Conor Whelan (Galway)
14. Conor Cooney (Galway)
15. Patrick Horgan (Cork)

Hurler of the Year

Gearoid McInerney (Galway)

000e94cc-614 Source: RTE

Do you agree with the team selected by the Sunday Game panel? Let us know in the comments section below…

Galway reach the promised land, Canning wins that elusive All-Ireland and McGrath may step away

Galway reach the promised land, Canning wins that elusive All-Ireland and McGrath may step away

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel