Matt Mackey/INPHO Cavan and Down will face off in the first round.

Here is the first-ever draw for the Tailteann Cup

The action gets underway this coming weekend.

THE FIRST-EVER DRAW for the new Tailteann Cup senior football competition has been made.

In the Preliminary Round of the Southern Section this coming weekend, Wexford will host Offaly and Wicklow welcome Waterford.

The winners of those clashes will face off in Round 1 on the last weekend of May, along with Carlow and Tipperary, and Laois and Westmeath.

In the Northern section, it’s Longford v Fermanagh, Leitrim v Antrim, Sligo v London and Cavan v Down.

GAA president Larry McCarthy conducted the draw live on RTÉ Radio 1′s Morning Ireland, noting that he hopes the competition “takes off like a meteorite”.

The Tailteann Cup is for teams who will play in Division 3 and 4 of the National Football Leagues next year and are no longer in their respective provincial championships.

Confirmation of throw-in times and venues for the Preliminary Round and Round 1 will follow from the CCCC in due course, with the first team out of the pot today earning home advantage.

The semi-finals and finals will take place in Croke Park and are due to be televised, with all fixtures winner on the day.

New York were drawn to the Southern Section at a CCCC meeting earlier last week, and will enter the competition at the quarter-final stage.

2022 Tailteann Cup fixtures

Southern Section

Preliminary Round

  • Wexford v Offaly
  • Wicklow v Waterford
Round 1
  • Wexford/Offaly v Wicklow/Waterford
  • Carlow v Tipperary
  • Laois v Westmeath

Northern Section 

Round 1

  • Longford v Fermanagh
  • Leitrim v Antrim
  • Sligo v London 
  • Cavan v Down


  • Preliminary Round – 21/22 May
  • Round 1 – 28/29 May
  • Quarter-Finals – 4/5 June
  • Semi-Finals – Sunday 19 June 
  • Final – Saturday 9 July.


Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

    Leave a commentcancel