Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 5°C Friday 4 December 2020

Thomas Ryan on fire as Tallow march into Waterford senior hurling final

Former county player scored 1-5 to take his championship tally to an incredible 3-42.

Thomas Ryan was on song for Tallow today.
Thomas Ryan was on song for Tallow today.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

Tallow 1-14

Ballyduff Upper 0-16

Tomás McCarthy reports from Fraher Field

THOMAS RYAN HIT 1-5 from play in a scorching second half display to send Tallow into their first Waterford SHC final since 2011.

The Bridesiders trailed near neighbours Ballyduff by three points at the break but they never looked back after Ryan rattled the cobwebs on 32 minutes.

Their leading marksman has registered a total of 3-42 in this year’s championship.

In an exciting finish, Mikey Kearney had the chance to level from a free inside his own half but it tailed right and wide.

Tallow played with the benefit of the breeze at first and raced three points clear inside eight minutes through two Ryan Grey frees and a William Henley effort tight to the sideline. Ballyduff settled however and started to impose their short game.

Thomas Ryan dejected Thomas Ryan and Tallow will have the chance to atone for their 2011 county final loss. Source: James Crombie

The Reds rattled off seven unanswered singles. Stephen Molumphy and Mikey Kearney scored two apiece with Jamie Kearney, Andrew Casey and Kevin Casey the others involved in that eleven minute scoring raid.

Cian Leamy was also denied a goal by Shaun O’Sullivan.

Kieran Geary landed Tallow’s first point for fifteen minutes from midfield. Ballyduff stretched their lead to five with Andrew Casey and Mikey Kearney accurate again (0-9 to 0-4).

Grey and Henley pared the arrears down to three by the half time whistle (0-9 to 0-6).

Tallow boss Terence McSweeney made a couple of tactical switches during the interval and momentum shifted in their direction.

Stephen Molumphy Stephen Molumphy scored three points for Ballyduff Upper but he couldn't prevent defeat today. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

On 32 minutes, Ryan Grey passed inside for Thomas Ryan who burst into space and blasted across David Walsh to the far corner. The men in blue and gold shot 1-4 without response. Ryan claimed 1-2 of that haul.

Kevin Casey and Mikey Kearney persisted for Ballyduff but they couldn’t contain Ryan. He blazed three more including a stunning effort in front of the stand off his left hand side.

Goalkeeper Shaun O’Sullivan came to Tallow’s rescue in the closing stages as a battle hardened defence withstood a barrage of late Ballyduff pressure to book their place in the decider against either Ballygunner or Fourmilewater.

Scorers for Tallow: Thomas Ryan 1-5, Ryan Grey 0-4 (4fs), William Henley 0-2, Evan Sheehan, Kieran Geary, Paul Kearney 0-1 each.

Scorers for Ballyduff Upper: Mikey Kearney 0-7 (4fs, 1 65), Stephen Molumphy 0-3, Kevin Casey, Andrew Casey 0-2 each, Jamie Kearney, Seamus Hannon 0-1 each.


1. Shaun O’Sullivan

2. Mark O’Brien
3. David O’Brien
4. Kenneth Kearney

5. Aidan Kearney
6. James Murray
14. Jordan Henley

8. Paul O’Brien
9. Kieran Geary

10. William Henley
13. Thomas Ryan
11. Bob McCarthy

26. Shane Feeney
12. Ryan Grey
15. Evan Sheehan


Jake Neville for Feeney (27)
Paul Kearney for McCarthy (H-T)
Bob McCarthy for W Henley (62).

Ballyduff Upper

1. David Walsh

2. Denis McDonagh
3. Tom Molumphy
4. Shane Hannon

5. Michael Kearney
6. Shane Kearney
7. Tom Feeney

8. Seamus Hannon
12. Jamie Hannon

10. Jamie Kearney
11. Stephen Molumphy
9. Cian Leamy

15. Mikey Kearney
14. Andrew Casey
13. Kevin Casey


Oisin Hickey for T Molumphy (H-T)
Eoin Scanlon for Hickey (48)
Tom Molumphy for A Casey (50).

Referee: Alan Kissane

Legendary Kerry star books a place in this year’s Cork football final

2-7 from Cian McCarthy sets up a repeat of last year’s Cork senior hurling final

About the author:

Tomas McCarthy

Read next: