Dublin: 9°C Tuesday 18 January 2022

Fox goal proves the winner as Tipperary hold off Clare challenge

A first league win for Liam Kearns Tipperary team.

Éire Óg Annacarty man Fox found the net for the Premier with eight minutes from time.
Éire Óg Annacarty man Fox found the net for the Premier with eight minutes from time.
Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Tipperary 2-7
Clare 1-7

Jackie Cahill reports from Sean Treacy Park

A BRIAN FOX goal eight minutes from time secured Tipperary’s first victory today in this season’s Division 3 of the Allianz Football League.

The Premier County came through a real war of attrition played out in atrocious conditions at Sean Treacy Park in Tipperary town.

Driving wind and rain, particularly in the second half, made things difficult for both sets of players but they served up a decent contest nonetheless.

Clare played with the wind in the first half but shot themselves in the foot to an extent, registering ten wides before half-time.

It was Tipp who had the advantage at the interval, leading by 1-4 to 0-4, but they were given a real fright by Clare in the second half before collecting maximum points.

Conor Sweeney scored Tipp’s goal in the third minute after Philip Austin had rattled the Clare crossbar.

And there were two more goals before full-time – scored within a minute of each other.
Jamie Malone crashed home a brilliant strike for Clare with nine minutes left to tie the game at 1-7 apiece.

But Tipp’s newly-appointed captain Peter Acheson, who was quite brilliant throughout, scythed through the Clare defence with his team’s next attack.

Acheson could have taken the easy option of a fisted point but instead, he handpassed across the face of goal and Fox connected bravely at the far post for the decisive and final score of the game.

Clare seemed unsure of their gameplan in the first half as Tipp contained the threat of their opponents.

Banner captain Gary Brennan was winning plenty of ball around midfield but his influence diminished when he was moved into full-forward.

Brennan drifted between both positions in the second and although Clare did draw level, Tipp had enough about them to get the job done and supply manager Liam Kearns with a valuable win.

Scorers for Tipperary: Brian Fox 1-1, Philip Austin 0-4 (2f), Conor Sweeney 1-0, Peter Acheson & Josh Keane 0-1 each.

Scorers for Clare: Jamie Malone 1-0, David Tubridy 0-3f, Gary Brennan & Eoin Cleary (1f) 0-2 each.


16. Ciaran Kenrick (Moyle Rovers)

4. Ciaran McDonald (Aherlow)
7. Alan Campbell (Moyle Rovers)
2. Colm O’Shaughnessy (Ardfinnan)

3. Jimmy Feehan (Killenaule)
6. Robbie Kiely (Carbery Rangers, Cork)
19. Donagh Leahy (Arravale Rovers)

8. Alan Moloney (Rockwell Rovers)
9. Martin Dunne (Moyle Rovers)

10. Josh Keane (Golden-Kilfeacle)
11. Peter Acheson (Moyle Rovers – captain)
12. Brian Fox (Éire Óg Annacarty)

21. Niall O’Donovan (Arravale Rovers)
14. Conor Sweeney (Ballyporeen)
15. Philip Austin (Borrisokane)


5. John O’Callaghan (Ballyporeen) for D Leahy (53)
18. Shane Leahy (Arravale Rovers) for Feehan (b/c 60)
13. Kevin O’Halloran (Portroe) for Sweeney (62)
17. Billy Hewitt (Ardfinnan) for Austin (66)
20. David Butler (Drom & Inch) for O’Donovan (68)


1. Joe Hayes (Lissycasey)

2. Cian O’Dea (Kilfenora)
3. Kevin Hartnett (Meelick)
4. Martin McMahon (Kilmurry-Ibrickane)

5. Jamie Malone (Corofin)
6. Gordon Kelly (St Joseph’s Milltown)
7. Pearse Lillis (Cooraclare

8. Gary Brennan (Clondegad – captain)
9. Cathal O’Connor (Coolmeen)

10. Sean Collins (Cratloe)
11. Enda Coughlan (Kilmurry-Ibrickane)
12. Shane McGrath (Thomas Davis)

13. Keelan Sexton (Kilmurry-Ibrickane)
14. Eoin Cleary (St Joseph’s Milltown)
15. David Tubridy (Doonbeg)


25. Declan McMahon (Cooraclare) for Coughlan (h.t.)
17. Pat Burke (Kilmacud Crokes) for Sexton (60)
19. Sean Haugh (O’Currys) for McGrath (60)
20. Darren Nagle (Liscannor) for Lillis (67)

Referee: Padraig O’Sullivan (Kerry)

Cork crash to 10-point defeat as impressive Donegal go top of Division 1

Kerry lose out again as Roscommon claim historic victory in Killarney

About the author:

Jackie Cahill

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel