Saturday 28 January 2023 Dublin: 6°C
Ken Sutton/INPHO Cork's Seamus Harnedy and Tipperary's Ronan Maher challenging today.
# Against the odds
Amazing comeback by Tipperary as they recover from being 12 points down to beat Cork
The Premier won a high-scoring thriller at Páirc Uí Rinn today.

Tipperary 2-28
Cork 4-21

TIPPERARY CAME BACK from a seemingly impossible 12-point deficit to overhaul Cork and secure top spot in Division 1A of the Allianz Hurling League at Páirc Uí Rinn this afternoon.

When Patrick Horgan struck for his second, and Cork’s fourth, goal in 53rd minute, it put Jimmy Barry-Murphy’s side 4-19 to 0-19 ahead, having led by 0-15 to 0-13 at half-time.

Even when Tipp found the net through Kieran Bergin and Jason Forde to trail by five points, 4-20 to 2-21, they looked like mere consolation goals. A point from Séamus Harnedy in response in the 60th minute looked to suggest that Cork would see out time in satisfactory fashion, but they wouldn’t score again.

Instead, Séamus Callanan sent over a trio of frees to bring Tipp to within touching distance and then Noel McGrath added two more leave just a point between the teams. Sub Conor Kenny got the equaliser from a tight angle and then the visitors worked the winner, Callanan laying off to McGrath, who made no mistake.

Jason Forde and Noel McGrath celebrate Ken Sutton / INPHO Ken Sutton / INPHO / INPHO

Shorn of their earlier rhythm, Cork were frantic now in search of a levelling score and though they worked the ball into scoreable positions, they couldn’t secure the necessary point.

In front of 7,895, they had led for most of the first half, with Horgan getting eight points. Tipp never let them get too far away but at the same time didn’t seem to offer much and four consecutive points, from Aidan Walsh, Séamus Harnedy and Horgan (two) put Cork 0-15 to 0-10 in front.

While Tipp were back to within two by half-time after a pair from Callanan and one by McGrath, Cork’s goal blitz early in the second period looked to have put them in an impregnable position.

Conor Lehane got the first after Séamus Harnedy’s pass, then Horgan fashioned something from nothing to make it 2-19 to 0-18. Sub Paudie O’Sullivan got in on the act too, finishing after Harnedy’s point effort hit the post and then Horgan netted again, with a lovely ground-strike after being dispossessed. First position in the table looked to be theirs, but Tipp had other ideas.

Conor Kenny with Shane O'Neill and Lorcan McLoughlin Ken Sutton / INPHO Tipperary's Conor Kenny with Cork's Cormac Murphy and Lorcan McLoughlin Ken Sutton / INPHO / INPHO

Scorers for Tipperary: Séamus Callanan 0-10 (0-5f), Noel McGrath 0-7 (0-1f), Jason Forde 1-4, Niall O’Meara 0-3, Kieran Bergin 1-0, Thomas Stapleton, John O’Dwyer (0-1f), Conor Kenny, Ronan Maher 0-1 each.

Scorers for Cork: Patrick Horgan 2-8 (0-6f), Séamus Harnedy 0-5, Conor Lehane 1-1, Paudie O’Sullivan 1-0, Daniel Kearney, Cormac Murphy 0-2 each, Aidan Walsh, Robert O’Shea, Alan Cadogan 0-1 each.


1. Darragh Egan (Kildangan)

2. Paddy Stapleton (Borris-Ileigh)
3. Conor O’Mahony (Newport)
4. Conor O’Brien (Éire Óg Annacarty)

7. Kieran Bergin (Killenaule)
6. Pádraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)
21. Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)

8. Shane McGrath (Ballinahinch)
9. Thomas Stapleton (Templederry Kenyons)

10. Noel McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)
11. Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh)
12. Jason Forde (Silvermines)

13. John O’Dwyer (Killenaule)
14. Séamus Callanan (Drom & Inch)
15. Niall O’Meara (Kilruane MacDonaghs)

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

22. Patrick Maher (Lorrha-Dorrha) for Brendan Maher (32-half-time, blood)
22. Patrick Maher for Brendan Maher (half-time)
18. Shane Bourke (JK Brackens) for O’Dwyer (half-time)
19. Michael Breen (Ballina) for Shane McGrath (half-time)
26. James Woodlock (Drom & Inch) for Thomas Stapleton (56)
20. Conor Kenny (Borris-Ileigh) for O’Meara (62)


1. Anthony Nash (Kanturk)

2. Shane O’Neill (Bishopstown)
4. Damien Cahalane (St Finbarr’s)
3. Stephen McDonnell (Glen Rovers)

5. Lorcán McLoughlin (Kanturk)
6. Mark Ellis (Millstreet)
7. Cormac Murphy (Mallow)

8. Daniel Kearney (Sarsfields)
9. Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)

12. Robert O’Shea (Carrigaline)
11. Séamus Harnedy (St Ita’s)
10. Conor Lehane (Midleton)

13. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)
14. Luke O’Farrell (Midleton)
15. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)

23. Paudie O’Sullivan (Cloyne) for Cadogan (half-time)
18. Conor O’Sullivan (Sarsfields) for Ellis (51)
26. Bill Cooper (Youghal) for O’Farrell (53)
20. Andy Walsh (Killeagh) O’Shea (59)
22. Stephen Moylan (Douglas) for Kearney (65)

Referee: Barry Kelly (Westmeath)

Waterford can celebrate Division 1B promotion after today’s six-point win over Wexford

Kilkenny saw off Clare today but they’re going to meet each other again in relegation final