Dublin: 7°C Tuesday 25 January 2022

5 changes for Tipp ahead of table-topping Munster derby with Cork

Eamonn O’Shea shakes up his midfield before weekend assignment.

Image: Donall Farmer/INPHO

A STRAIGHT SHOOTOUT for top-spot, Sunday’s Allianz National Hurling League Division 1A clash between Tipperary and Cork at Pairc Ui Rinn promises much.

Having won their last three games, Tipp boss Eamonn O’Shea has still made changes to his team ahead of the derby.

There are five in total with a couple of them enforced.

Goalkeeper Darren Gleeson is injured, as is Paul Curran so Darragh Egan comes in between the sticks for his first start of the campaign while Conor O’Brien, who replaced Curran during the Premier’s last outing against Kilkenny, retains his place.

Paddy Stapleton returns from injury and slots in at corner-back while Shane McGrath and Thomas Stapleton are also selected in a new midfield pairing with Niall O’Meara coming in at corner-forward.

1. Darragh Egan (Kildangan)

2. Paddy Stapleton (Borris-Ileigh)

3. Conor O’Mahony (Newport)

4. Conor O’Brien (Éire Óg Annacarty)

5. Cathal Barrett (Holycross-Ballycahill)

6. Padraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)

7. Kieran Bergin (Killenaule)

8. Shane McGrath (Ballinahinch)

9. Thomas Stapleton (Templederry Kenyons)

10. Noel McGrath (Loughmore Castleiney)

11. Brendan Maher Capt. (Borris-Ileigh)

12. Jason Forde (Silvermines)

13. John O’Dwyer (Killenaule)

14. Seamus Callanan (Drom & Inch)

15. Niall O’Meara (Kilruane McDonaghs).

Brian Cody makes 4 changes to his Kilkenny side for upcoming Clare test

5 burning questions to be answered on a crunch National Hurling League weekend

About the author:

Eoin O'Callaghan

Read next: