Dublin: 16°C Monday 27 June 2022

Tipperary and Cork claim victories as Munster minor hurling action begins

The Fraher Field and Austin Stack Park hosted tonight’s games.

Waterford and Tipperary players in action.
Waterford and Tipperary players in action.
Image: Ken Sutton/INPHO

Munster minor hurling championship results

  • Tipperary 1-22 Waterford 0-23
  • Cork 3-25 Kerry 0-11


TIPPERARY AND CORK claimed victories as the Electric Ireland Munster minor hurling championship action commenced tonight.

The competition is being organised on a group stage with Tipperary defeating Waterford by 1-22 to 0-23 in Group 1, Clare being the other side in their group.

James Woodlock’s Tipperary team had two points to spare at the Fraher Field, despite Waterford being in front 0-14 to 1-8 at the break.

Damien Corbett, who scored 1-8 overall, raised the green flag for Tipperary while Ciarán Foley, Paddy McCormack and Tom Delaney were others to make important point-scoring contributions for the Premier. Jack Twomey was Waterford’s top scorer with 0-12.

james-woodlock Tipperary boss James Woodlock. Source: Ken Sutton/INPHO

Cork were comfortable winners by 3-25 to 0-11 against Kerry in Tralee, the county’s All-Ireland winning camogie boss Paudie Murray taking charge of the minor team for the first time in competitive action.

Exclusive NZ - IRE
Rugby Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella's match analysis and Garry Doyle's updates from New Zealand exclusive to members

Become a Member

Adam O’Sullivan, Timmy Wilk, a member of last year’s All-Ireland winning team, and Ben Walsh hit the net for Cork, while Ross O’Sullivan (0-10) and Daniel Murnane (0-4) also impressed in the scoring stakes.

Cork next face Limerick in Páirc Uí Chaoimh next Tuesday night.

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel