Dublin: 12°C Saturday 18 September 2021

Tipperary hand out 4 championship debuts in Munster quarter-final

Michael Ryan has named his team for this weekend’s clash with Cork.

John McGrath John McGrath starts at corner-forward. Source: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

FOUR TIPPERARY PLAYERS will make their Munster Senior Hurling Championship debuts in Thurles on Sunday (4pm).

The Premier County clash with Cork at Semple Stadium and manager Michael Ryan has opted to start Seamus Kennedy at half-back, while Sean Curran, Dan McCormack, and John McGrath will also make their bows after being named in the forwards.

Tipperary  (v Cork)

1. Darren Gleeson (Portroe)

2. Cathal Barrett (Holycross-Ballycahill)
3. James Barry (Upperchurch-Drombane)
4. Michael Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields)

5. Seamus Kennedy (St Mary’s)
6. Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)
7. Padraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)

8. Brendan Maher (Borri-Ileigh) (captain)
9. Michael Breen (Ballina)

10. Sean Curran (Mullinahone)
11. Dan McCormack (Borris-Ileigh)
12. Noel McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)

13. John O’Dwyer (Killenaule)
14. Seamus Callanan (Drom & Inch)
15, John McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Ellis returns to Cork team in new role for Munster championship opener with Tipperary

7 players we’ll miss in this year’s hurling championship

About the author:

Ben Blake

Read next: