Kerry gain McGrath Cup win away to Tipperary as league build-up continues

Barry John Keane hit 0-5 for the winners today.

Kerry's Tommy Walsh tries to grab a hold of Tipperary's Niall O'Donovan
Kerry's Tommy Walsh tries to grab a hold of Tipperary's Niall O'Donovan
Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Kerry 0-16
Tipperary 0-10

Conor Kane reports from Sean Treacy Park

“A GOOD WORKOUT,” was how Kerry boss Eamonn Fitzmaurice described this McGrath Cup victory against home team Tipperary after seeing his men rack up 16 points in challenging conditions.

What was technically a meaningless game as both counties were out of overall contention in the competition was nevertheless played at a high tempo throughout the 70 minutes, with Tipp never letting their more decorated counterparts get too far in front.

A 12-minute period in the first half, when Kerry put over five points on the bounce, was what effectively charted the course of this match and the second half saw Fitzmaurice empty the bench to give as many as possible some game time before the arrival of the national league.

Barry John Keane and Johnny Buckley looked sharp up front throughout, while Tommy Walsh shaded the centrefield stakes, with Fionn Fitzgerald and Padraig O’Connor showing some class in defence.

“It was a competitive outing for us so it was great,” Eamonn Fitzmaurice said afterwards. “Tipp were impressive as well, you’d know they have a lot of work done.

“The running game they play can be hard to defend against, to concede 10 points was a decent return from our backs. We were happy overall.”

John O'Callaghan and Barry John Keane Tipperary's John O'Callaghan and Kerry's Barry John Keane battle for possession Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Scorers for Kerry: BJ Keane 0-5 (0-4f), Alan Fitzgerald 0-3, Philip O’Connor 0-2, David Moran 0-2 (0-1f 0-1’45’), Conor Cox 0-2 (0-1f), Paul Murphy 0-1, Jamie O’Sullivan 0-1.

Scorers for Tipperary: Liam Casey 0-3, Billy Hewitt 0-2 (0-1f), Robbie Kiely 0-1, Peter Acheson 0-1, Brian Fox 0-1, Alan Maloney (0-1f), David Butler 0-1.

Eamonn Fitzmaurice Eamonn Fitzmaurice and his Kerry management team watch on Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO


1. Brendan Kealy (Kilcummin)

2. Briain O Beaglaoich (An Ghaeltacht)
3. Mark Griffin (St Michaels-Foilmore)
4. Fionn Fitzgerald (Dr Crokes)

5. Paul Murphy (Rathmore)
6. Killian Young (Captain) (Reenard)
7. Padraig O’Connor (Killarney Legion)

8. David Moran (Kerins O’Rahillys)
9. Tommy Walsh (Kerins O’Rahillys)

10. Philip O’Connor (Cordal)
11. Johnny Buckley (Dr Crokes)
12. Jamie O’Sullivan (Killarney Legion)

13. Barry John Keane (Kerins O’Rahillys)
14. Alan Fitzgerald (Castlegregory)
15. Stephen O’Brien (Kenmare)

Brian Kelly (Killarney Legion) for Kealy (half-time)
Jonathan Lyne (Killarney Legion) for Moran (45)
Wayne Guthrie (Austin Stacks) for Philip O’Connor (51)
Tom O’Sullivan (Dingle)for Buckley (53)
Conor Cox (Listowel Emmetts) for Keane (53m)
Paul O’Sullivan (Valentia) for P Murphy (55m).


1. Ciaran Kenrick (Moyle Rovers)

2. Colm O’Shaughnessy (Ardfinnan)
3. Jimmy Feehan (Killenaule)
4. Ciaran McDonald (Aherlow)

5. John O’Callaghan (Ballyporeen)
6. Robbie Kiely (Carbery Rangers, Cork)
7. Shane Leahy (Arravale Rovers)

8. Alan Maloney (Rockwell Rovers)
9. Niall O’Donovan

10. Brian Fox (Éire Óg-Annacarty)
11. Martin Dunne (Moyle Rovers)
12. Josh Keane (Golden-Kilfeacle)

13. Peter Acheson (Moyle Rovers)
14. Liam Casey (Cahir)
15. Billy Hewitt (Ardfinnan)

D Bargerie for McDonald (42)
David Butler (Drom-Inch) for Maloney (54)
Donagh Leahy (Arravale Rovers) for Kiely (58)
Stephen Quirke (Moyle Rovers) for Casey (64)

Referee: Kevin Murphy (Cork)

14-man Meath hold on against Louth to reach O’Byrne Cup final

Hannon stars as Limerick defeat Cork to close in on Munster SHL final

About the author:

Conor Kane

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel