Callanan's goal the difference but Tipp set for Limerick rematch in Munster final

The Premier County made it four wins from four in their round-robin series with victory at Semple Stadium.

Seamus Callanan scored the only goal of the game in Thurles.
Seamus Callanan scored the only goal of the game in Thurles.
Image: Ken Sutton/INPHO

Tipperary 1-22

Limerick 0-21

Shane Brophy reports from Semple Stadium

TIPPERARY AND LIMERICK will do it all over again in two weeks’ time in the Munster final despite the Premier county’s victory in today’s final round-robin encounter in Thurles.

Seamus Callanan’s 38th minute goal proved to the difference in this hard-fought encounter in front of a crowd of 39,115. However, the Shannonsiders progress to the decider in two weeks time with Tipperary having pipped both Cork and Clare on score difference for second place.

It proved to be a costly victory for Tipperary with Cathal Barrett (hamstring) and Patrick Maher (knee) forced off before half time with major concern over the latter who was in severe pain and had to be stretchered from the pitch.

Tipperary were full value for their victory having hit 13 wides to Limerick’s nine, laying the platform for the win in the first half where they led 0-12 to 0-8, despite having played against the breeze.

This was despite having been held scoreless for the first nine minutes as Shane Dowling and Aaron Gillane had Limerick into an early lead. Tipp hit back with the next five with Brendan Maher and Seamus Callanan on target from play to take control of the tie.

Limerick relied heavily on Gillane for scores in the opening half – mainly from frees – as Cathal Barrett was doing well on the Limerick star until he was forced off before half time. Seamus Flanagan was also denied a goal by a fine Brian Hogan save.

The introduction of Graeme Mulcahy at half time paid immediate dividends for Limerick as he set up Gillane for a point before scoring one himself as the All Ireland champions cut the margin to two before Callanan scored the only goal of the game, running onto a pass from John McGrath and side-stepping two defenders, fired to the net.

From there, Limerick could never get any closer than three points as Tipperary were always able to keep them at arms length, helped by two sublime sideline cuts by Jason Forde who top-scored with eight points.

Sean O'Brien tackles Tom Morrissey Tipperary's Sean O'Brien tackles Limerick's Tom Morrissey. Source: Ken Sutton/INPHO

Scorers for Tipperary: Jason Forde 0-8 (4 frees, 2 sideline cuts); Seamus Callanan 1-4; Padraic Maher, John McGrath, Noel McGrath (1 free) 0-2 each; Brendan Maher, Michael Breen, Jake Morris, John O’Dwyer 0-1 each.

Scorers for Limerick: Aaron Gillane 0-12 (10 frees); Tom Morrissey, Diarmuid Byrnes (2 65s) 0-3 each; Shane Dowling, Graeme Mulachy, Cian Lynch 0-1 each.


Brian Hogan (Lorrha-Dorrha)

Sean O’Brien (Newport)
James Barry (Upperchurch/Drombane)
Cathal Barrett (Holycross/Ballycahill)

Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh)
Padraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)
Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)

Michael Breen (Ballina)
Noel McGrath (Loughmore/Castleiney)

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

Jason Forde (Silvermines)
John O’Dwyer (Killenaule)
Patrick Maher (Lorrha-Dorrha)

John McGrath (Loughmore/Castleiney)
Seamus Callanan (Drom & Inch)
Jake Morris (Nenagh Eire Og).

Alan Flynn (Kiladangan) for Barrett (33 inj)
Dan McCormack (Borris-Ileigh) for Patrick Maher (35 inj)
Robert Byrne (Portroe) for Breen (47)
Mark Kehoe (Kilsheelan/Kilcash) for Morris (63)
Willie Connors (Kiladangan) for J McGrath (68).


Nickie Quaid (Effin)

Sean Finn (Bruff)
Mike Casey (Na Pairsaigh)
Riche English (Doon)

Diarmuid Byrnes (Patrickswell)
Dan Morrissey (Ahane)
Paddy O’Loughlin (Kilmallock)

Darragh O’Donovan (Doon)
William O’Donoghue (Na Piarsaigh)

Shane Dowling (Na Piarsaigh)
Kyle Hayes (Kildimo/Pallaskenry)
Tom Morrissey (Ahane)

Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh)
Seamus Flanagan (Feohanagh/Castlemahon)
Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell)

Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock) for Flanagan (HT)
Conor Boylan (Na Piarsaigh) for Dowling (43)
Pat Ryan (Doon) for Casey (51)
Cian Lynch (Patrickswell) for O’Donoghue (55)
David Reidy (Dromin-Athlacca) for Hayes (64).

Referee: Sean Cleere (Kilkenny)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

About the author:

Shane Brophy

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel