This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 12 °C Sunday 5 April, 2020

Job done by Tipp as they claim 12-point Munster minor success against Waterford

The teams clashed in Semple Stadium tonight.

Image: Cathal Noonan

Tipperary 2-16
Waterford 1-7

Jackie Cahill reports from Semple Stadium

TIPPERARY BOOKED THEIR place in the semi-finals of the Electric Ireland Munster minor football championship last evening.

Charlie McGeever’s Premier County whipped visitors Waterford by 12 points at Semple Stadium.

Second half goals from Jack Delahunty and sub Brendan Martin bolstered the Tipperary challenge as Waterford were sent to the playoffs.

Tipp were just two points clear at half-time, 0-8 to 1-3, and they had to come from behind to edge ahead after dominating the majority of the first-half.

Tipp were 0-5 to 0-1 clear but Waterford rallied to lead when Shane O’Meara’s palmed effort was adjudged to have crossed the line from Conor Murray’s pass.

Dual star Stephen Quirke missed some chances but the hurling captain still managed to collect three points from play in the first half in a dominant display.

Tipp, powered forward by Jack Kennedy, recovered from a point down, 0-5 to 1-3, to lead at the break before pulling after half-time.

Waterford managed four points in the second period, just the one from play straight after half-time, as Tipp tagged on 2-8.

Delahunty netted in the 35th minute after Waterford goalkeeper Kevin Dwane spilled Kennedy’s shot on goal before sub Martin added a second goal midway through the second half.

Tipp will play a winner from the playoffs in their next outing on 13 May.

Luke Boland and Danny Owens celebrate after the game Danny Owens (right) captained Tipperary to victory tonight. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Scorers for Tipperary: Jack Kennedy 0-5 (0-3f), Jack Delahunty 1-2, Brendan Martin 1-1, Stephen Quirke 0-3, Aidan Buckley, Tommy Nolan 0-2 each, Ross Peters 0-1 each.

Scorers for Waterford: Shane O’Meara 1-0, Sean White 0-3 (0-1f, 0-1 ’45), Conor Murray 0-2, David Looby (0-1f), Michael Sweeney 0-1 each.


1. Charlie Manton (Fethard)

2. Tommy Lowry (Arravale Rovers)
3. Morgan Irwin (Moyle Rovers)
4. Tadhg Fitzgerald (Moyle Rovers)

7. Mark Kehoe (Kilsheelan Kilcash)
12. Shane Power (Galtee Rovers)
5. Liam Fahy (Rockwell Rovers)

11. Jack Kennedy (Clonmel Commercials)
8. Tommy Nolan (Drom & Inch)

10. Aidan Buckley (St. Patricks)
9. Stephen Quirke (Moyle Rovers)
6. Danny Owens (capt, Moyle Rovers)

13. Emmett Moloney (Drom & Inch)
14. Conor Cashman (Cahir)
15. Jack Delahunty (Newport)

24. Brendan Martin (Kilsheelan Kilcash) for Cashman (h.t.)
20. Jamie Bergin (Drom & Inch) for Fahy (45)
19. Brian McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney) for Delahunty (48)
17. Gavin Whelan (Ardfinnan) for Fitzgerald (52)
23. Ross Peters (Clonmel Commercials) for Nolan (55)
18. Jack Butler (Upperchurch-Drombane) for Kehoe (57)


1. Kevin Dwane (Ballinacourty)

2. Conor McCarthy (Ballinacourty)
3. Stephen Ryan (Nire)
4. Darragh O’Grady (Brickey Rangers)

7. Neil Montgomery (Ballinacourty)
17. Darren McGuckian (Stradbally)
5. Carthach Barry (Brickey Rangers)

8. Ciarán Looney (Nire)
9. Conor Prunty (Ballinacourty)

10. David Looby (Ballinacourty)
15. Dylan Guiry (capt, Nire)
12. Shane O’Meara (Nire)

13. Michael Sweeney (Stradbally)
14. Sean White (Gaultier)
11. Conor Murray (Rathgormack)

23. Michael Culloo (Ballinameela) for Loooney (40)
19. Darragh McGrath (Ballinacourty) for O’Meara (44)
18. Michael Phelan (Ballinameela) for Looby (44)
20. Gavin Sheehan (Rathgormack) for Montgomery (53)
21. Eoin Kelly (Ballinacourty) for Sweeney (58)

Referee: Barry Kelly (Clare)

Cork overcome loss of injured stars to see off Limerick in Munster minor football opener

Jack O’Connor’s Kerry minor side off to great Munster start with 11-point win over Clare

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Jackie Cahill

Read next: