Dublin: 8°C Tuesday 24 May 2022

Five changes for Tipp as Sheedy deals with injury headache ahead of Wexford clash

Throw-in at Innovate Wexford Park on Sunday is 2pm.

Tipperary manager Liam Sheedy.
Tipperary manager Liam Sheedy.
Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

LIAM SHEEDY HAS named five changes to his starting Tipperary side to face Wexford in their third-round Allianz National Hurling League clash on Sunday.

The 2016 All-Ireland champions travel to Wexford [throw-in 2pm] with Paul Maher making his first start of the league campaign between the posts.

While Sheedy is facing a terrible injury headache in his second spell at the helm, there’s some good news as Seamus Kennedy returns to the Premier defence having recovered.

Jason Forde and Niall O’Meara both start in the forward line after coming off the bench in the defeat to Limerick, while John ‘Bubbles’ O’Dwyer also gets the nod.

At the time of publication, Wexford had not named their team.


1. Paul Maher – Moyne-Templetuohy

2. Donagh Maher – Burgess
3. James Barry – Upperchurch-Drombane
4. Ronan Maher – Thurles Sarsfields

5. Séamus Kennedy – St. Mary’s
6. Padraic Maher – Thurles Sarsfields
7. Barry Heffernan – Nenagh Éire Óg

8. Robert Byrne – Portroe
9. Michael Breen – Ballina

10. Jason Forde – Silvermines
11. Noel McGrath – Loughmore-Castleiney
12. Patrick Maher – Lorrha-Dorrha

13. John O’Dwyer – Killenaule
14. Séamus Callanan – Drom-Inch (captain)
15. Niall O’Meara – Kilruane MacDonaghs.

- Updated to rectify an error.

Murray Kinsella, Andy Dunne and Gavan Casey break down Ireland’s dogged win against Scotland in Murrayfield, and look at the room for improvement, in the latest episode of The42 Rugby Weekly.

Source: The42 Rugby Weekly/SoundCloud

Subscribe to our new podcast, The42 Rugby Weekly, here:

About the author:

Emma Duffy

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel