Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 12°C Sunday 16 May 2021

After 5 operations and 48 days in hospital, Tomás Waters is back as captain of the Wexford hurlers

Injury nightmare now just a memory for the St Martins full-back who will skipper the Slaneysiders on Sunday

Tomas Waters is back after his injury nightmare..
Tomas Waters is back after his injury nightmare..
Image: Donall Farmer/INPHO

THIS IS ONE to gladden the hearts of all Wexford hurling fans.

Tomás Waters has already made his return to the purple and gold after a nightmarish spell on the sidelines through injury and now boss Liam Dunne has named the St Martins stalwart as captain.

Combative full-back Waters will lead the Slaneysiders out against Laois in next Sunday’s Bord Na Mona Walsh Cup showdown in Abbeyleix.

For Waters, the clash with the O’Moore men will mark his first competitive start for Wexford since an horrific cruciate knee ligament injury sustained against Clare in July 2013.

Waters underwent five operations and spent 48 days in hospital after complications arose and at one point, he was swallowing 15 tablets a day.

Here he is, explaining last year the ordeal that he went through.

Source: Wexford Gaa/YouTube

But thankfully all that’s behind him now and after a couple of challenge outings already this year, this is another significant step forward for the 2013 All Star nominee.

Let’s hope that what he’s gone through is now just Waters under the bridge for Tomas.


1. Mark Fanning (Glynn-Barntown)

2. Liam Ryan (Rapparees)
3. Tomas Waters (St Martins)
4. Eoin Moore (Oulart-The-Ballagh)

5. Richie Kehoe (Faythe Harriers)
6. Paudie Foley (Crossabeg/Ballymurn)
7. Ciaran Kenny (Buffers Alley)

8. Benny Barron (Shelmaliers)
9. Garrett Sinnott (Oulart-The-Ballagh)

10. Joe Kelly (Shelmaliers)
11. Daithi Waters (St Martins)
12. Ian Byrne (Ferns St Aidans)

13. Ciaran O’Shaughnessy (Shelmaliers)
14. Shane Tomkins (Askamore)
15. Kevin Foley (Rapparees)


16. Niall Breen (Tara Rocks)
17. Andrew Kenny (Buffers Alley)
18. David Redmond (Oulart-The-Ballagh)
19. Paul Morris (Ferns St Aidans)
20. Harry Kehoe (Cloughbawn)
21. Simon Donohoe (Shelmaliers)
22. Shane O’Gorman (Adamstown)
23. Willie Devereux (St Martins)
24. Aidan Cash (Shelmaliers)
25. Podge Doran (Oylegate/Glenbrien)

TG4 will show 48 GAA games between now and the Championship, including this lot

‘If you’re going to be there, then be there all the way’: The GAA’s new ad

About the author:

Jackie Cahill

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel