Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 7°C Wednesday 28 October 2020

Tyrone beat Donegal at their own game to deliver a first Ulster title since 2010

Mickey Harte’s side had to dig deep in the second-half to deservedly take the provincial crown.

Image: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

Tyrone 0-13

Donegal 0-11

TYRONE DELIVERED THEIR first Ulster title in six years with a dramatic late win over Donegal at Clones.

Rory Gallagher’s side led by 0-7 to 0-4 at half-time and appeared to be controlling proceedings, particularly after Mattie Donnelly and Cathal McShane were black carded for Tyrone in the opening period.

Tyrone came back into the game after the break and found themselves level as the game approached stoppage-time.

Michael Murphy curled over a free from 50 metres to put Donegal a point in front, but there was time enough for Tyrone to claw their way back.

Sean Cavanagh drove over a wonderful equaliser from the wing with a counrter-attacking score that seemed to suck the life out of Donegal.

Then Peter Harte and Kieran McGeary tagged on a point apiece to deliver Tyrone’s first championship win over Donegal since 2007.

Donegal scorers: P McBrearty 0-3, M Murphy 0-2, R McHugh 0-3, O MacNiallais 0-2, C Toye 0-1

Tyrone scorers: N Morgan 0-2, C McShane 0-1, N Sludden 0-1, C McCarron 0-1, R Brennan 0-1, P Harte 0-2, S Cavanagh 0-3, D McCurry 0-1, C McGeary 0-1


1. Niall Morgan (Edendork)

2. Aidan McCrory (Errigal Ciarán)
3. Ronan McNamee (Aghyaran)
4. Cathal McCarron (Dromore)

5. Tiernan McCann (Killyclogher)
6. Justin McMahon (Omagh)
7. Peter Harte (Errigal Ciarán)

8. Colm Cavanagh (Moy)
9. Mattie Donnelly (Trillick)

10. Cathal McShane (Eoghan Roe O’Neill)
11. Niall Sludden (Dromore)
12. Ronan McNabb (Dromore)

13. Connor McAliskey (Clonoe)
14. Sean Cavanagh (Captain – Moy)
15. Ronan O’Neill (Omagh)


1. Mark Anthony McGinley (St Michael’s)

2. Paddy McGrath (Ardara)
3. Neil McGee (Gaoth Dobhair)
4. Ciaran Gillespie (Gaoth Dobhair)

5. Ryan McHugh (Kilcar)
6. Karl Lacey (Four Masters)
7. Frank McGlynn (Glenfin)

8. Rory Kavanagh (St Eunan’s)
9. Odhrán Mac Niallais (Gaoth Dobhair)

10. Anthony Thompson (Naomh Conaill)
11. Martin McElhinney (St Michael’s)
12. Eoin McHugh (Kilcar)

13. Patrick McBrearty (Kilcar)
14. Michael Murphy (Glenswilly – captain)
15. Martin O’Reilly (Sean Mac Cumhaill)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

More Leinster minor glory for Kildare as they enjoy 11-point victory over Laois

Good start to the day for Donegal with victory over Derry in Ulster minor football final

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel