Ryan Burns has been in fine form in Louth's two man attack. Presseye/Russell Pritchard/INPHO
upper hand

Tyrone end Louth's year with a 17 point thrashing in Omagh

Louth only managed three second-half points after a decent first 35 minutes.

Tyrone 2-21

Louth 0-10

EMMETT MCKENNA’S GOAL within 20 seconds of the second-half throw-in, was the platform for an emphatic Tyrone victory in today’s Round 1B qualifier in Omagh.

Tyrone started both halves at a far higher intensity than their Leinster opponents, yet unlike in the opening half, Tyrone followed up on a ferocious start to the second half with a ruthless 35 minute performance..

Within seven minutes Louth trailed by four points, as Tyrone started brightly – tackling in numbers and dominating the breaking ball.

After three early points by the impressive Darren McCurry, and a Sean Cavanagh free, Louth finally opened their account through an Andy McDonnell score on eight minutes.

A late change to the Louth XV saw the introduction of Ryan Burns, and the youngster didn’t disappoint in his first championship start; managing two great individual points.

Burns’ selection came at the expense of big Conor Grimes, although he was introduced after less than 20 minutes as Louth trailed by five.

Despite some poor decision making, Grimes’ introduction has had the desired effect and he managed one of three Louth points before the 30 minute mark which brought the Wee County to within a point.

Colm Cavanagh and Ryan Burns Presseye / Russell Pritchard/INPHO Presseye / Russell Pritchard/INPHO / Russell Pritchard/INPHO

It took less than a minute after the interval for Tyrone to diminish any hope of an upset, as McKenna’s goal was quickly followed up McCurry and Cavanagh points.

Five minutes later Stephen O’Neill added a second goal, before which he had been operating mainly as a contributor for McCurry and co.

Two minutes later, O’Neill turned provider once more, his genius pass put Ciaran McGinley through on goal only for Neil Gallagher to pull off a fantastic stop.

As Louth struggled to cope with Tyrone’s physicality and athleticism, Niall Morgan stepped up to punish a trio of sloppy fouls – fifteen minutes into the half and the scoreboard read 2-16 to 0-7.

Both teams emptied their benches as the game coughed and spluttered to an end. Ryan Burns, Colm Judge and Conor Grimes scored Aidan O’Rourke’s team’s only points of a hugely disappointing half.

It was not the response he was looking for from his team, as Tyrone progress – the team nobody wants to meet.

Scorers for Tyrone: Darren McCurry 0-6 (0-3f); Sean Cavanagh 0-5 (0-4f); Conor McAliskey, Niall Morgan (0-3f 0-1 45) 0-4 each; Emmett McKenna 1-1; Stephen O’Neill 1-0; Ciaran McGinley 0-1.

Scorers for Louth: Ryan Burns 0-3 (0-1f) Andy Mc Donnell, Brian White (0-2f), Conor Grimes 0-2 each; Colm Judge 0-1.

Ronan McNamee and Shane Lennon Shane Lennon was substituted early on. Presseye / Russell Pritchard/INPHO Presseye / Russell Pritchard/INPHO / Russell Pritchard/INPHO


1. Niall Morgan (Edendork)
2. Aidan McCrory (Errigal Ciarán)
3. Ronan McNamee (Aghayarn)
4. PJ Quinn (Moortown)
5. Ronan McNabb (Dromore)
6. Mattie Donnelly (Trillick)
7. Peter Harte (Errigal Ciarán)
8. Colm Cavanagh (Moy)
9. Sean Cavanagh (Moy)
10. Emmett McKenna (Eglish)
11. Shay McGuigan (Ardboe)
12. Ciaran McGinley (Errigal Ciarán)
13. Darren McCurry (Edendork)
14. Stephen O’Neill (Clann na nGael)
15. Conor McAliskey (Clonoe)


Joe McMahon (Omagh) for C Cavanagh (53)
Plunkett Kane (Coalisland) for O’Neill (53)
Justin McMahon (Omagh) for Donnelly (55)
Martin Penrose (Carrickmore) for McCurry (59)
Niall McKenna (Donaghmore) for S Cavanagh (66)
Ryan McKenna (Eglish) for Quinn (66)

Aidan O'Rourke The Louth player's club jerseys didn't have the desired effect. Presseye / Russell Pritchard/INPHO Presseye / Russell Pritchard/INPHO / Russell Pritchard/INPHO


1. Neill Gallagher (Cooley Kickhams)
2. Padraig Rath (Dreadnots)
3. Dessie Finnegan (St Patrick’s)
4. John Bingham (St Mary’s)
5. John O’Brien (Sean O’Mahony’s)
6. Derek Crilly (Dundalk Gaels)
7. Adrian Reid (Mattock Rangers)
8. Paddy Keenan (St Patrick’s)
9. Mick Fanning (Naomh Máirtín)
10. Andy Mc Donnell (Newtown Blues)
11. Brian White (Cooley Kickhams)
12. Derek Maguire (Dundalk Young Irelands)
13. Colm Judge (Newtown Blues)
14. Shane Lennon (Kilkerley Emmets)
18. Ryan Burns (Hunterstown)


Conor Grimes (Glen Emmets) for Lennon (18)
Darren O’Hanlon (St Patrick’s) for Rath (36)
Conor Rafferty (Cooley Kickhams) for White (41)
Eoin Lafferty (St Patrick’s) for Crilly (46)
J Stewart (Dundalk Gaels) for O’Brien (47 BC)
Keith McLoughlin for McDonnell (61)

4 talking points ahead of this weekend’s qualifiers action

Three changes for Dublin ahead of Wexford semi-final

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.