James Crombie/INPHO Damien Gore (file photo).
# Scoring Stars
Cork duo Gore and Buckley shine as MTU claim Sigerson derby win over UCC
UCC fought back from eight points down in the second half but couldn’t draw level.

MTU Cork 0-15

UCC 0-13

THE ATTACKING DUO of Damien Gore and David Buckley caught fire as MTU Cork claimed a notable win in their local derby clash tonight with UCC in the Sigerson Cup.

Action in the premier colleges football competition returned with plenty local interest in a game that drew a sizeable Wednesday night attendance to the MTU Cork Campus in Bishopstown.

The home side thrived in their own patch, forging a sizeable advantage courtesy of their twin attacking threat to lead 0-8 to 0-4 at the interval.

That advantage was swelled to eight points in the second half before a ferocious UCC fightback cut the deficit to a single point on two different occasions. A tension-filled finale ensued as the venue was enveloped in freezing fog under the floodlights but Gore’s eighth point of the game from an injury-time free, allied to Buckley’s return of four, paved the way for MTU Cork to celebrate at the final whistle.

A scrappy opening quarter was edged 0-3 to 0-2 in MTU’s favour but after the water break, they hit their stride with Daniel O’Connell influential at midfield and Gore wreaking havoc in attack, as chipped in with five first-half points. It was 0-8 to 0-4 in their favour at the interval, UCC’s cause damaged by a series of point chances that they passed up.

MTU built on that momentum by reeling off four quick points without reply as the second half resumed, Gore and Buckley firing a brace apiece, as UCC’s defence struggled to contain them. Trailing by eight points looked an ominous siutation for the Billy Morgan-managed side but they managed to claw their way back into contention with substitute Diarmuid Phelan, Colm O’Callaghan and Fionn Herlihy all leading the fight back.

They struck six points on the spin before the second-half water break, 0-12 to 0-10, to ensure they were in the hunt for honours again and Tipperary’s Riain Quigley tapped over another point as the final quarter commenced, to leave the minimum between them.

But MTU crucially never allowed their opponents draw level, substitute Finbarr Murphy firing over a terrific point while Buckley and Gore popped up with valuable scores as they successfully closed out the game.

  • Elsewhere tonight in the Sigerson Cup, St Mary’s Belfast defeated TU Dublin City by 1-12 to 1-8 with Paddy Quigg’s late goal sealing St Mary’s victory, Darragh Campion raised the green flag for TU Dublin City.


Scorers for MTU Cork: Damien Gore 0-8 (0-5f, 0-1 mark), David Buckley 0-4, Finbarr Murphy, Conall Kennedy, David O’Connor 0-1 each.

Scorers for UCC: Mark Cronin (0-1f), Conor Geaney (0-1f), Fionn Herlihy, Colm O’Callaghan, Ronan Dalton (0-1f) 0-2 each, Rian Quigley, Brian Murphy, Sean O’Connor (0-1f) 0-1 each.

MTU Cork

1. Ryan Scully (St Finbarr’s, Cork)

2. Paul Ring (Aghabullogue, Cork), 17. Niall Donohue (Firies, Kerry), 4. Adam Murphy (Aghabullogue, Cork)

5. Rory Maguire (Castlehaven, Cork), 6. John Cooper (Éire Óg, Cork), 7. Brian Hodnett (Carbery Rangers, Cork)

8. Daniel O’Connell (Kanturk, Cork), 9. Cillian O’Donovan (Macroom, Cork)

10. Chris O’Donoghue (Glenflesk, Kerry), 22. Gavin O’Brien (Kerins O’Rahilly’s, Kerry), 12. Conall Kennedy (Clonmel Commercials, Tipperary)

13. Damien Gore (Kilmacabea, Cork), 14. David Buckley (Newcestown, Cork), 15. David O’Connor (St Vincent’s, Cork)


23. Dylan O’Connor (Castletownroche) for O’Connor (46)

3. Colm O’Shea (Kilshannig, Cork) for Hodnett (46)

11. Finbarr Murphy (Legion, Kerry) for O’Donovan (48)

19. Aodán Behan (St Senan’s, Kerry) for Donohue (48)

27. Thomas Casey (Kiskeam, Cork) for O’Brien (61)


1. Dylan Foley (Éire Óg, Cork)

4. Jack Harney (Moyle Rovers, Tipperary), 3. Brian Murphy (Nemo Rangers, Cork), 17. Liam Wall (Kilmurry, Cork)

5. Niall Geaney (Dingle, Kerry), 6. Cian Gammell (Killarney Legion, Kerry), 7. Daniel O’Brien (Glenflesk, Kerry)

8. Brian Hartnett (Douglas, Cork), 19. Shane Merritt (Mallow, Cork)

10. Colm O’Callaghan (Éire Óg, Cork), 11. Ronan Dalton (Nemo Rangers, Cork), 21. Fionn Herlihy (Dohenys, Cork)

13. Mark Cronin (Nemo Rangers, Cork), 14. Conor Geaney (Dingle, Kerry), 15. Sean O’Connor (Clonmel Commercials, Tipperary).


23. Riain Quigley (Moyle Rovers, Tipperary) for O’Connor (36)

28. Diarmuid Phelan (Aghada, Cork) for Harney (36)

31. Conor Hayes (Kerins O’Rahillys, Kerry) for Dalton (59)

Referee: Cormac Dineen (Cork)

Buy The42’s new book, Behind The Lines, here:

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment

    Leave a commentcancel