Galway and Kerry players lead the way in Rising Stars Football Team of the Year

Eight counties have players on the team.

NUIG's Matthew Tierney and UL's David Clifford.
NUIG's Matthew Tierney and UL's David Clifford.
Image: INPHO

GALWAY AND KERRY players are to the fore in this year’s Higher Education Rising Stars Football Team of the Year, which was announced today.

The awards scheme, sponsored by Electric Ireland, recognises the stars of this season’s Sigerson Cup competition. Champions NUI Galway have seven players included, there are four from finalists UL, with semi-finalists DCU and MTU Kerry both have two players on the team.

Kerry’s David Clifford, Galway’s Matthew Tierney and Sean Kelly, Cork’s Sean Powter and Mayo’s Eoghan McLaughlin are some of the star intercounty figures on this year’s side.

In total there are four Galway players honoured, three from Kerry, two apiece for Mayo and Roscommon, along with one from Kildare, Cork, Sligo and Clare.

Kerry’s Fionán Mackessy is a standout inclusion, as the dual star was last week named on the hurling team at midfield after his exploits on Ryan Cup.

2022 Electric Ireland HE GAA Rising Stars Football Team of the Year

  • 1. Conor Carroll – NUIG – Oranmore-Maree (club), Roscommon (county).
  • 2. Eoghan McLaughlin – UL – Westport, Mayo.
  • 3. Shea Ryan – DCU – Sarsfields, Kildare.
  • 4. Fionán Mackessy – MTU Kerry – Ardfert, Kerry.
  • 5. Sean Powter – UL – Douglas, Cork.
  • 6. Eoin Kelly – NUIG – Moycullen, Galway.
  • 7. Sean Kelly – NUIG – Moycullen, Galway.
  • 8. Red Óg Murphy – DCU – Curry, Sligo.
  • 9. Matthew Tierney – NUIG – Oughterard, Galway.
  • 10. Fionn McDonagh – NUIG – Westport, Mayo. 
  • 11. Emmet McMahon – UL – Kildysart, Clare.
  • 12. Gavin Burke – NUIG – Corofin, Galway.
  • 13. Cathal Heneghan – NUIG – Michael Glaveys, Roscommon.
  • 14. David Clifford – UL – Fossa, Kerry.
  • 15. Tony Brosnan – MTU Kerry – Dr Crokes, Kerry.


What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

A new episode of The Front Row, in partnership with Guinness, is out now. After Ireland’s Triple Crown win, Murray Kinsella gives us the rundown on his team of the tournament. Ireland international Sene Naoupu also joins the panel to chat about her career and look ahead to the start of the Women’s Six Nations. Click here to subscribe or listen below:

Source: The42/SoundCloud

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel