Old Belvedere's Danny Riordan scoops top prize at Ulster Bank League awards

Division 1A champions Clontarf picked up no less than four trophies after their superb league success.

Mick McGrath and David Joyce Ireland head coach Joe Schmidt with Mick McGrath [left] and David Joyce. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

OLD BELVEDERE HAVE picked up the two top awards at the Ulster Bank League awards ceremony in Dublin this evening, despite having heartbreakingly missed out on the Division 1A title on the last day of the season.

Fullback Danny Riordan, who has had spells with Connacht, Munster and Leinster in the past was named Player of the Year in Division 1A, while Paul Cunningham scooped the gong for the best coach in the same league.

1A champions Clontarf’s excellent campaign was recognised through prizes for explosive wing Mick McGrath and prolific out-half David Joyce, the latter of whom was selected as the division’s Rising Star.

Outstanding back row Robert Duke was named as Division 1B’s best player, having helped Terenure to promotion and a perfect record of 18 wins from 18 league fixtures, while Galwegians’ powerful centre Jerome Harimate picked up the 2A award.

Finally, Derek Corcoran, player/coach of the promoted Nenagh Ormond, was selected as the best of the bunch in 2B, while Clontarf’s Sam O’Byrne was deservedly highlighted as the PRO of the year across all divisions.

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

Full list of winners from the 2014 Ulster Bank League awards:

  • Division 1A Player of the Year - Danny Riordan [Old Belvedere]
  • Division 1A Coach of the Year – Paul Cunningham [Old Belvedere]
  • Division 1A Rising Star of the Year – David Joyce [Clontarf]
  • Division 1A Top Try Scorer of the Year – Mick McGrath [Clontarf]
  • Division 1A Top Points Scorer of the Year – David Joyce [Clontarf]
  • Division 1B Player of the Year – Robert Duke [Terenure]
  • Division 2A Player of the Year – Jerome Harimate [Galwegians]
  • Division 2B Player of the Year – Derek Corcoran [Nenagh Ormond]
  • Ulster Bank League PRO of the Year – Sam O’Byrne [Clontarf]

Yellow for ROG, Wally’s late try and hurt; the last time Munster played Toulon

Ulster land Lions lock Van Der Merwe as McAllister commits to France

About the author:

Murray Kinsella

Read next: