Thursday 2 February 2023 Dublin: 8°C
# Team-Sheet
Henderson named captain as Ulster go in search of crucial Champions Cup win in London
Les Kiss has named Iain Henderson as captain for Sunday’s Champions Cup meeting with Harlequins in the absence of Rory Best.

Iain Henderson Tommy Dickson / INPHO Ulster flanker Iain Henderson. Tommy Dickson / INPHO / INPHO

JACOB STOCKDALE, ROB Herring and Iain Henderson have all been handed starts for Ulster’s crucial Champions Cup meeting away to Harlequins on Sunday afternoon [KO 1.00pm].

Les Kiss’ side have taken just four points from their opening games in Pool 1 and are in need of a win following a 24 point defeat to La Rochelle at the end of October.

Henderson will captain the side wearing the number 6 shirt at a sold-out Stoop in the absence of Rory Best, who has been ruled out with a foot infection.

Nick Timoney and Sean Reidy complete the back row, with Alan O’Connor and Kieran Treadwell retained in the second row.

Kiss has chosen John Cooney and Christian Lealiifano at half-back, with Tommy Bowe partnering Stuart McCloskey in midfield.

Craig Gilroy, who scored a brace of tries last weekend at Rodney Parade, joins Stockdale and Charles Piutau in the back three, with Ballymena forwards John Andrew, Andy Warwick, Ross Kane and Matty Rea named on the bench, along with Chris Henry, Paul Marshall, Peter Nelson and Louis Ludik.


15. Charles Piutau
14. Craig Gilroy
13. Tommy Bowe
12. Stuart McCloskey
11. Jacob Stockdale
10. Christian Lealiifano
9. John Cooney

1. Callum Black
2. Rob Herring
3. Wiehahn Herbst
4. Alan O’Connor
5. Kieran Treadwell
6. Iain Henderson (captain)
7. Sean Reidy
8. Nick Timoney.


Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

16. John Andrew
17. Andrew Warwick
18. Ross Kane
19. Mattie Rea
20. Chris Henry
21. Paul Marshall
22. Peter Nelson
23. Louis Ludik.


15. Mike Brown
14. Charlie Walker
13. Alofa Alofa
12. Jamie Roberts
11. Tim Visser
10. Marcus Smith
9. Danny Care

1. Joe Marler
2. Elia Elia
3. Kyle Sinckler
4. George Merrick
5. Charlie Matthews
6. Renaldo Bothma
7. Chris Robshaw
8. Mat Luamanu.


16. Dave Ward
17. Lewis Boyce
18. Phil Swainston
19. Dino Lamb
20. Archie White
21. Ian Prior
22. Winston Stanley
23. Ross Chisholm.

The42 has just published its first book, Behind The Lines, a collection of some of the year’s best sports stories. Pick up your copy in Eason’s, or order it here today (€10):

11 years after being released by Ulster, Steenson driving Exeter’s pursuit of European success

‘They love Munster and Munster love them’ – Taute confident POM and Stander will stay put

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment

    Leave a commentcancel