Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 12°C Sunday 9 May 2021

1-8 for Donegal duo as 13-man Ulster University avoid shock Sigerson defeat to Garda

The Sigerson Cup favourites needed two goals in extra-time to wrap up this first round win.

Donegal stars Paddy McBrearty and Ryan McHugh
Donegal stars Paddy McBrearty and Ryan McHugh
Image: Inpho

Ulster University 2-15
Garda College 0-13
(After extra-time)

-Conor Kane reports from Templemore

AFTER MISSING A hatful of chances both in regulation time and early in extra time, Ulster University finally capitalised on their superior power up front with goals by Ryan McHugh and Michael McEvoy which proved decisive.

UU had led late in the match by three points before scores by Seamus Carroll and Eoin Cleary, twice from placed balls and the last of them deep into injury-time, put Garda College back on level terms and threw the tie into extra-time.

But Garda could only score once more during that additional period, a brilliant point by Cleary from the left wing, while UU added 2-13 and that was enough.

It was a match which boiled over at times, particularly in a second half which yielded three red cards – two for UU and one for garda – and was ultra-competitive until the second of those goals was converted.

Both of the green flags were fisted efforts, Ryan McHugh getting on the end of a passing move involving Mark Bradley and Niall Madine, and shortly after the turnaround McEvoy finished off some nice inter-passing by Paddy McBrearty, Cathal Boylan and Madine.

Scorers for UU - P McBrearty 0-7 (6f), N Madine 0-4, R McHugh 1-1, E Rafferty 0-3, M McEvoy 1-0.

Scorers for Garda - T McDaniel 0-6 (5f), S Carroll 0-2, C Fitzmaurice 0-2, P Morris 0-1, Brendan Murphy 0-1, E Cleary 0-1.

Ulster University

S Fox

R Kelly
R Johnstone
R McNamee

S Sheridan
G McKinless
R McAnespie

N McKeever
T O’Brien

R McHugh
E Rafferty
R McGlone

P McBrearty
N Madine
M Bradley

E McHugh for S Sheridan (17m)
M McEvoy for R McGlone
T Clarke for G McKinless (60m)
N Walsh for N McKeever (60m)
C Boylan for R McAnespie, (64m)
J Kearney for T O’Brien (75m)
D Gallagher for M Bradley

Garda College

S Murphy

S O’Malley
G Petit
J Morris

B Kane
T Featherstone
P Morris

B Murphy
D Gallagher

S Carroll
A Tormey
C Fitzmaurice

E Cleary
P Kelleher
T McDaniel

G Ennis for P Kelleher (10m)
K Tarrant for G Petit (35m, black card)
D Dwyer for C Fitzmaurice (40m)
K Nugent for B Kane (42m)
P Kelleher for J Morris (60m)

Referee: J Molloy (Galway).

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Dual star O’Callaghan sets sights on Dublin starting place but first target is club glory

Juggling Dublin league with Clare championship and getting a Banner senior call-up

About the author:

Conor Kane

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel