Waterford crowned hurling league champions with emphatic win over Cork

Semple Stadium was the venue this afternoon.

Waterford trio Austin Gleeson, Martin O'Neill and Pauric Mahony celebrate their victory.
Waterford trio Austin Gleeson, Martin O'Neill and Pauric Mahony celebrate their victory.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

Waterford 1-24
Cork 0-17

Fintan O’Toole reports from Semple Stadium

WATERFORD’S REMARKABLE HURLING revival continues after they were crowned Division 1 league champions in Semple Stadium this afternoon with an emphatic dismissal of Cork.

Relegated from Division 1A twelve months ago, Waterford’s turnaround has been hugely impressive with promotion clinched from Division 1B and now a league title collected by Derek McGrath’s young side.

Pauric Mahony once again spearheaded their scoring drive as he chipped in with 0-11 while Austin Gleeson, Kevin Moran, Michael Walsh and Maurice Shanahan all made vital scoring contributions.

Waterford inflicted a third league final defeat in six years on Cork after a hugely disappointing performance by Jimmy Barry-Murphy’s side. Cork couldn’t break down Waterford’s defensive structure with Patrick Horgan, accurate from frees throughout, well marshalled by Noel Connors.

Waterford players celebrate with the cup Waterford's players celebrate in the dressing-room after the game. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Conor Lehane was excellent as he fired 0-5 from play but Cork ultimately didn’t pack a sufficient scoring punch. They came close to hitting the net twice but Stephen O’Keeffe produced a sublime first-half save to deny Seamus Harnedy while Lehane rattled the crossbar in the second-half.

Waterford made the early running to forge a 0-7 to 0-5 advantage by the 18th minute. Cork pulled a couple of points back yet Waterford’s confidence soared when Austin Gleeson launched over a stunning 29th minute point that sent them 0-9 to 0-5 clear. They were 0-11 to 0-7 ahead at the interval and full value for that position.

Stephen McDonnell and Philip Mahony Cork's Stephen McDonnell and Waterford's Philip Mahony. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Cork’s form improved early in the second-half. Aidan Walsh’s 40th minute point left them 0-13 to 0-10 adrift but then they were the victim of some contentious officiating decisions. The umpires adjudged a Bill Cooper shot, that looked to be between the posts, as wide and referee Johnny Ryan awarded two frees that sparked fury amongst the Cork supporters.

The ultra-reliable Mahony nailed both of those for Waterford and they went 0-16 to 0-10 clear with twenty minutes left. The huge Deise following sensed a major success and their team capitalised on the opportunity. They were in front 0-20 to 0-14 with eight minutes remaining when substitute Devine bundled a shot home and they closed out the game in style from there.

Austin Gleeson and Seamus Harnedy Waterford's Austin Gleeson and Cork's Seamus Harnedy. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Scorers for Waterford: Pauric Mahony 0-11 (0-8f, 0-1 ’65), Tom Devine 1-1, Kevin Moran 0-3, Austin Gleeson (0-1 sideline), Maurice Shanahan, Michael Walsh 0-2 each, Jamie Barron, Brian O’Halloran, Stephen Bennett 0-1 each.

Scorers for Cork: Patrick Horgan 0-7 (0-7f), Conor Lehane 0-5, Seamus Harnedy 0-2, Aidan Walsh, Bill Cooper, Rob O’Shea 0-1 each.

Tom Devine scores a goal Tom Devine scores a goal despite the best efforts of Cork's Mark Ellis. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO


1. Stephen O’Keeffe (Ballygunner)

4. Noel Connors (Passage)
3. Barry Coughlan (Ballygunner)
2. Shane Fives (Tourin)

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

6. Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion)
5. Tadhg De Burca (Clashmore Kinsalebeg)
7. Philip Mahony (Ballygunner)

8. Jamie Barron (Fourmilewater)
10. Kevin Moran (De La Salle)

15. Colin Dunford (Colligan)
11. Pauric Mahony (Ballygunner)
14. Michael Walsh (Stradbally)

12. Jake Dillon (De La Salle)
21. Maurice Shanahan (Lismore)
22. Stephen Bennett (Ballysaggart)

13. Brian O’Halloran (Clashmore-Kinsalebeg) for Dunford (58)
9. Tom Devine (Modeligo) for Bennett (60)
23. Shane O’Sullivan (Ballygunner) for Dillon (66)
18. Martin O’Neill (Mount Sion) for Gleeson (69)
19. Gavin O’Brien (Roanmore) for Barron (71)

Noel Connors and Kevin Moran celebrates at the final whistle Waterford's Noel Connors and Kevin Moran celebrate at the final whistle. Source: James Crombie/INPHO


1. Anthony Nash (Kanturk)

2. Shane O’Neill (Bishopstown)
3. Aidan Ryan (Midleton)
4. Stephen McDonnell (Glen Rovers)

5. Lorcán McLoughlin (Kanturk)
6. Mark Ellis (Millstreet)
7. Cormac Murphy (Mallow)

8. Daniel Kearney (Sarsfields)
9. Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)

10. Bill Cooper (Youghal)
11. Seamus Harnedy (St. Ita’s)
12. Rob O’Shea (Carrigaline)

13. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)
14. Conor Lehane (Midleton)
15. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)

18. Paudie O’Sullivan (Cloyne) for Cadogan (inj) (11)
20. Brian Lawton (Castlemartyr) for Walsh (49)
25. Luke O’Farrell (Midleton) for O’Shea (49)
17. Damien Cahalane (St Finbarr’s) for Ryan (56)
26. Jamie Coughlan (Newtownshandrum) for Harnedy (inj) (70)

Referee: Johnny Ryan (Tipperary)

Galway survive Cork fightback to be crowned Division 1 camogie league champions

Tipp boss fumes at Tyrone’s tactics – ‘They’re experts at winding the clock down’

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: