Injury worries for Waterford after good win over Tipp while Limerick see off Westmeath

Focus now switches to the championship after today’s hurling league ties concluded.

Waterford's Jack Fagan and Tipperary's Ronan Maher.
Waterford's Jack Fagan and Tipperary's Ronan Maher.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

WATERFORD AND LIMERICK both claimed the spoils on the last day of Division 1A in the hurling league this afternoon, to move into the championship on a winning note.

Liam Cahill’s Waterford team defeated Tipperary by 2-29 to 3-21 in Walsh Park, a result that ended the Premier team’s hopes of clinching top spot in the division.

Limerick enjoyed a 3-26 to 0-18 victory away to Mullingar, the reigning All-Ireland champions triumphing for the second weekend in succession in the top tier, as they finished fourth in the table, ahead of Cork on the head-to-head record.

Waterford had five points to spare on home soil but picked up some injury concerns as they lost Shane Fives, Austin Gleeson and Conor Prunty during the course of the game. The Deise are out in championship action in Munster in a fortnight when they take on Clare.

Stephen Bennett bagged 0-15 for Waterford, with 11 of those from placed balls, while Dessie Hutchinson fired 2-2 in an impressive display. They were in front 2-13 to 2-12 at the interval with Jason Forde and Noel McGrath raising green flags for Tipperary.

Waterford powered clear in the third quarter as they went ahead 2-20 to 2-16. Tipperary’s third goal arrived by Seamus Callanan to cut the gap to two points but Waterford pushed on again to win by five points. Forde was Tipperary’s top scorer with 1-5 while McGrath (1-2), Callanan (1-1) and Ronan Maher (0-4) also chipped in for Liam Sheedy’s team.

niall-mitchell-and-richie-english Westmeath's Niall Mitchell and Limerick's Richie English. Source: Brian Reilly-Troy/INPHO

John Kiely saw his Limerick team run out 17 point winners over Westmeath, but that was largely a result of a strong closing quarter where they outscored the home team by 3-8 to 0-4. Kyle Hayes, Pat Ryan and Darren O’Connell all scored goals as Limerick pulled clear in Mullingar.

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

The Liam MacCarthy Cup kingpins were in front 0-14 to 0-10 at the interval and Westmeath stayed in touch to trail 0-18 to 0-14 by the second-half water break. Aaron Gillane hit 0-8 for the winners while Seamus Flanagan weighed in with 0-4. Niall O’Brien was top scorer for Westmeath with 0-6 while Ciaran Doyle hit 0-3.


  • Waterford 2-29 Tipperary 3-21
  • Limerick 3-26 Westmeath 0-18

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel