Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: -2°C Sunday 11 April 2021

Waterford nick a draw against Limerick after scores galore late on

Both sides had moments of dominance but they couldn’t be separated at the final whistle.

Paudie Prendergast hit a late equaliser for the away side.
Paudie Prendergast hit a late equaliser for the away side.
Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Limerick 2-16
Waterford 0-22

DEREK  MCGRATH’S WATERFORD claimed a deserved share of the spoils in last night’s Allianz Hurling League Division 1B opener in Limerick.

Supersub Paudie Prendergast popped up with the equaliser in the second minute of stoppage time at the Gaelic Grounds, less than a minute after Limerick full-back Richie McCarthy had put the hosts in front in a pulsating encounter.

Waterford will feel they should have won it after leading by four points on six occasions but on the balance of play, the Munster rivals will be content with a share of the spoils.

It was Limerick’s to win when they moved two points clear late on but Waterford rallied to level before the sides traded those late scores.

At half-time, Waterford were 0-14 to 1-7 clear and the visitors recovered from the concession of a second minute penalty goal to David Reidy, who also netted one in the second half.

But the free-taking of Pauric Mahony, who scored nine of his eleven points from placed balls, was crucial on the night for a dogged Déise outfit.

Gavin O’Mahony, cleared to play by All-Ireland club finalists Kilmallock, was superb for Limerick with 0-5 from play.

And midfielder Paul Browne was in super form too, chipping in with 0-4.

Scorers for Limerick: David Reidy 2-3 (2-0 pen, 0-3f), Gavin O’Mahony 0-5, Paul Browne 0-4, Richie McCarthy, Tom Condon, Cian Lynch & Adrian Breen 0-1 each.

Scorers for Waterford: Pauric Mahony 0-11 (9f), Jamie Barron, Austin Gleeson, Brian O’Halloran & Paudie Prendergast 0-2 each, Kevin Moran, Michael Walsh & Shane Bennett 0-1 each.


1. Nickie Quaid (Effin)

2. Stephen Walsh (Glenroe)
3. Richie McCarthy (Blackrock)
4. Seamus Hickey (Murroe Boher)

5. Donal O’Grady (Capt) (Granagh Ballingarry)
6. Wayne McNamara (Adare)
7. Tom Condon (Knockaderry)

8. Cathal King (Na Piarsaigh)
9. Paul Browne (Bruff)

22. Niall Moran (Ahane)
11. Gavin O Mahony (Kilmallock)
12. Cian Lynch (Patrickswell)

13. David Reidy (Dromin Athlacce)
24. Patrick Begley (Mungret)
15. Adrian Breen (Na Piarsaigh)

23. Tom Morrissey (Ahane) for Moran (28)
20. James Ryan (Garryspillane) for King (half-time)
18. Dan Morrissey (Ahane) for Begley (50)
21. John Fitzgibbon (Adare) for O’Grady (64)
17. Seanie O’Brien (Patrickswell) for Condon (65)


1. Stephen O’Keeffe (Ballygunner)

2. Shane Fives (Tourin)
3. Barry Coughlan (Ballygunner)
4. Noel Connors (Passage)

5. Tadhg Bourke (Clashmore/Kinsalebeg)
6. Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion)
7. Philip Mahony (Ballygunner)

8. Jamie Barron (Fourmilewater)
9. Tom Devine (Modeligo)

10. Kevin Moran (Captain) (De La Salle)
11. Pauric Mahony (Ballygunner)
12. Jake Dillon (De La Salle)

13. Brian O’Halloran (Clashmore/Kinsalebeg)
14. Michael Walsh (Stradbally)
15. Michael Kearney (Ballyduff Upper)


19. Paudie Prendergast (Lismore) for Philip Mahony (23)
21. Shane Bennett (Ballysaggart) for Kearney (42)
22. Stephen Bennett (Ballysaggart) for Dillon (48)
20. Martin O’Neill (Mount Sion) for Devine (57)
18. Gavin O’Brien (Roanmore) for Moran (69)

Referee: Colm Lyons (Cork)

Ardfert of Kerry claimed their second All-Ireland intermediate football title at Croke Park today

Hurler of the year Hogan helps himself to 11 as Kilkenny pip Cork

About the author:

Jackie Cahill

Read next: