This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 16 °C Sunday 22 July, 2018

Ardfert of Kerry claimed their second All-Ireland intermediate football title yesterday

Roscommon outfit St Croan’s were no match for Ardfert.

Ardfert celebrate with their trophy.
Ardfert celebrate with their trophy.
Image: Tommy Grealy/INPHO

Ardfert (Kerry) 1-14
St Croan’s (Roscommon) 0-9

ARDFERT OF KERRY cruised to their third All-Ireland title, beating St Croan’s from Roscommon in the intermediate club final.

The Kingdom outfit won this crown in 2007, following up on their junior success at Headquarters 12 months previously.

They bounced back from relegation out of Kerry’s senior ranks and are All-Ireland champions again.

In truth they were never troubled by Croan’s and they grew a six-point half-time lead steadily after the break.

The Roscommon side tried hard and created goal chances, but keeper Nicholas O’Sullivan saved bravely from Shane Smyth and later on no one could get a touch on Cathal Connolly’s tempting ball across the target.

Ardfert used their Croke Park experience well, settling quickly into this game and opening up a six-point half-time lead, 1-6 to 0-3.

David Griffin got the goal after 20 minutes and his point shortly afterwards, when he punched a dropping ball over the bar, could also have ended up in the net.

Croan’s got the game’s opening score after barely ten seconds, though they only managed to register twice more in the opening period. Kevin Smyth got all of these scores, two from the dead ball.

The Roscommon side had a decent penalty shout when Shane Smyth was bundled over in the square, but referee Sean Hurson waved play-on and James Connaughton’s follow-up was smothered and cleared.

Ardfert captain Jerry Wallace, brought on as a first half substitute, was sent off on a straight red card two minutes from time, but by then the game was well won.

Scorers for Ardfert:
Damien Wallace 0-6 (3f), David Griffin 1-3, John Egan 0-3, T Wallace, Darren Wallace 0-1 each

Scorers for St Croan’s:
K Smyth 0-6 (5f), M Connaughton 0-2, (1 ’45’), B Mullin 0-1


1. Nicholas O’Sullivan

2. Darren Dineen
3. Rory Horgan
4. Mike Moloney

5. Trevor Wallace
6. Daniel Collins
7. Stephen Leen

8. John Dowling
9. Kevin Shanahan

10. David Griffin
11. Darren Wallace
12. Fionan Horgan

13. Shane Griffin
14. Damien Wallace
15. John Egan


17. Jerry Wallace for Dowling (18)
20. Brandon Barrett for Collins (29)
18. Mairtin Ferris for Darren Wallace (50)
19. Niall Clifford for Horgan (55)
22. Eamonn Corridon for S Grffin (61)


1. Vincent Egan

2. Gerard Mockler
3. Gregory Grogan
4. Keith Keenan

5. Daniel Malone
6. Eamon Towey
7. Maurice Connaughton

8. Ross Timothy
21. Aidan Brogan

10. Kevin Smyth
11. James Connaughton
12. Keith Muldoon

13. Robbie Keenan
14. Michael Holland
15. Shane Smyth


9. Brian Mullin for Brogan (21)
19. Philip Leech for Muldoon (27)
17. M Towey Mockler (HT)
25. Cathal Connelly for R Keenan (37)
22. Tommy Egan for Timothy (61)

Referee: Sean Hurson (Tyrone)

Galway’s Corofin topple All-Ireland club champions St Vincent’s at semi-final stage

Kerry’s Brosna claim All-Ireland JFC club title

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Peter Sweeney

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

Leave a commentcancel