Advertisement

Did Wayne Rooney apologise for his FA Cup dive?

Thorsten Stuckmann has claimed the striker apologised to him afterwards.

WAYNE ROONEY APOLOGISED for taking a dive to win a penalty for Manchester United in their FA Cup fifth round victory over Preston North End, according to the League One club’s goalkeeper.

Thorsten Stuckmann was adjudged to have fouled the United and England skipper by referee Phil Dowd, but replays showed there was no contact.

And the German keeper claims that Rooney later admitted that he had gone down too easily.

Stuckmann told The Sun: “After the game Rooney told me: ‘Sorry, it was my chance to get a penalty. I had to use that.’”

Preston manager Simon Grayson suggested that although Rooney had not been touched he was taking evasive action rather than trying to con the referee.

But Stuckmann is still adamant that Rooney was the guilty party, and questioned whether Dowd would have made the same decision at the other end of the field.

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

“I say it clear: ‘That was no penalty,’” he said.

“I also believe that, if the situation had happened the other way around, one of our strikers against the United keeper, the ref wouldn’t have given the penalty. I have no doubt about that.”

Originally published at 13.59

Former United misfit Anderson requires oxygen after being subbed before half time

LVG makes no apologies for using Fellaini as Plan B

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next:

COMMENTS (22)