Westmeath leave out captain and ace forward injured for Fermanagh qualifier

Ger Egan is on the bench and John Heslin’s ankle injury has ruled him out.

Westmeath skipper Ger Egan has been dropped.
Westmeath skipper Ger Egan has been dropped.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

WESTMEATH BOSS TOM Cribbin has made three changes to his starting team for Saturday’s All-Ireland senior football qualifier against Fermanagh at Breffni Park in Cavan.

Skipper Ger Egan reportedly suffered a groin injury at training on Tuesday evening and forward talisman John Heslin, who’s not in the 26-man panel, misses out with an ankle problem.

Cribbin has also opted for a host of positional switches in his team following the Leinster football final defeat to Dublin.

David Lynch is also dropped to the bench as experienced forward Denis Glennon is included.

Kieran Gavin and John Connellan are also handed starts for the clash with the Erne County.

The most notable positional switch is the naming of Kieran Martin in attack.

John Heslin John Heslin misses out through injury. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

The Maryland clubman, named at centre back on that occasion, famously scored two goals against Meath in the Leinster semi-final in an attacking role.

He is listed to line out at wing-forward for the Lake County’s latest assignment.

Fermanagh are unchanged from the team that defeated Roscommon last time out.

Throw-in is at 5pm on Saturday.


1. Darren Quinn (Tyrrellspass)

2. Kevin Maguire (Caulry)
3. Kieran Gavin (Mullingar Shamrocks)
4. Frank Boyle (Killucan)

5. Killian Daly (Mullingar Shamrocks)
6. Paddy Holloway (Castledaly)
7. James Dolan (Garrycastle)

8. Denis Corroon (Mullingar Shamrocks)
9. Paul Sharry (St Lomans Mullingar)

10. John Gilligan (Ballymore
11. Ray Connellan (Athlone)
12. Kieran Martin (Maryland)

13. John Connellan (Athlone)
14. Denis Glennon (Tyrrellspass)
15. Shane Dempsey (St Lomans Mullingar)

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member


16. Gary Connaughton (Tubberclair)
17. David Lynch (St Malachys)
18. Jamie Gonoud (Tyrrellspass)
19. Alan Stone (Castledaly)
20. John Egan (Athlone)
21. Daragh Daly (Mullingar Shamrocks)
22. Paul Greville (Killucan)
23. Ger Egan (capt., Tyrrellpass)
24. Lorcan Smyth (Mullingar Shamrocks)
25. Ronan Foley (Coralstown Kinnegad)
26. Ger Leech (Coralstown Kinnegad)


1. Thomas Treacy (An Deibhinis)

2. Michael Jones (Doire O gConaile)
3. Tiernan Daly (Doire O gConaile)
4. Niall Cassidy (Ros Liath)

5. Martin O’Brien (An Deibhinis)
6. Ryan McCluskey (Inis Ceithleann)
7. James McMahon (Ros Liath)

8. Eoin Donnelly (capt.) (An Cuach)
9. Richard O’Callaghan (Inis Ceithleann)

10. Barry Mulrone (An Deibhinis)
11. Ryan Jones (Doire O gConaile)
12. Declan McCusker (Naomh Seosamh)

13. Paul McCusker (Naomh Seosamh)
14. Sean Quigley (Ros Liath)
15. Tomas Corrigan (Cill Naile)

The Armagh player who smashed Davy Byrne’s nose will face no punishment

‘I don’t ever let the job stress me’ – Michael Lyster on his Sunday Game comeback

About the author:

Read next: