Dublin: 6°C Friday 18 June 2021

Davy Fitz and Cheddar Plunkett name sides for tomorrow's Wexford-Laois clash

Best known as a forward, Seamus Casey starts in goal for Wexford, with Mark Fanning on the bench.

Managerial battle: Wexford boss Davy Fitzgerald and Laois manager Seamus 'Cheddar' Plunkett.
Managerial battle: Wexford boss Davy Fitzgerald and Laois manager Seamus 'Cheddar' Plunkett.

WEXFORD MANAGER DAVY Fitzgerald has named his side for tomorrow’s Division 1B National Hurling League clash against Laois.

The Yellowbellies welcome Seamus ‘Cheddar’ Plunkett’s side to Wexford Park, with throw-in set for 1.45pm and live coverage available on TG4.

Fitzgerald opts for a much-changed line-up from the side that crashed out of the championship after their qualifier defeat to Clare last November.

Interestingly, Seamus Casey starts in goal, with last year’s first-choice ‘keeper Mark Fanning on the bench. Best known as a forward, Oylgate-Glenbrien man Casey scored 1-11 against Galway in the 2018 Leinster U20 final and bagged a goal against Tipperary in the 2019 senior league.

Shelmaliers star Conor Hearne is handed a big opportunity in midfield, starting alongside Diarmaid O’Keeffe, while Lee Chin is among the big names on the bench.

Plunkett, meanwhile, has shown his hand in his first game back the Laois helm since succeeding Eddie Brennan in the role.

In what is the Portlaoise man’s second stint in charge, his selection has been hampered by injuries, though he’s recalled experienced duo Charlie Dwyer and Ciaran Collier to the side; with both players starting tomorrow after a year’s absence.

The O’Moore county are looking forward to a “fair challenge” against Wexford, Plunkett says, having also drawn each other in the Leinster championship.

“We want to test ourselves against these teams and no better way to do that than in the league.”


1. Seamus Casey (Oylegate-Glenbrien)

2. Damien Reck (Oylegate-Glenbrien)
3. Liam Ryan (Rapparees)
4. Conr Firman (St Martin’s)

5. Gavin Bailey (Ferns St Aidan’s)
6. Simon Donohoe (Shelmaliers)
7. Conal Flood (Cloughbawn)

8. Diarmuid O’Keeffe (St Anne’s)
9. Conor Hearne (Shelmaliers)

10. Paul Morris (Fearns St Aidan’s)
11. Jack O’Connor (St Martin’s)
12. Mikie Dwyer (St Mogue’s Fethard)

13. David Dunne (Davidstown-Courtnacuddy)
14. Conor McDonald (Naomh Éanna)
15. Kevin Foley (Rapparees)


16. Mark Fanning (Glynn-Barntown)
17. Shane Reck (Oylegate-Glenbrien)
18. Matthew O’Hanlon (St James’)
19. Shaun Murphy (Oulart-The Ballagh)
20. Liam Óg McGovern (St Anne’s)
21. Aidan Nolan (HWH Bunclody)
22. Rory O’Connor (St Martin’s)
23. Conor Devitt (Tara Rocks)
24. Lee Chin (Faythe Harriers)
25. Harry Kehoe (Cloughbawn)
26. Joe O’Connor (St Martin’s)


1. Enda Rowland

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

2. Lee Cleere
3. Sean Downey
4. Donnchadh Hartnett

5. Jack Kelly
6. Podge Delaney
7. Ryan Mullanney

8. Fiachra Fennell
9. Paddy Purcell

10. Aaron Dunphy
11. Charlie Dwyer
12. Ciaran Collier

13. David Dooley
14. Roddy King
15. Ciaran Comerford.

Screenshot 2021-05-08 at 11.05.34 Source: Laois GAA.

Screenshot 2020-11-24 at 9.04.07 AM

About the author:

Emma Duffy

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel