Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 9°C Sunday 16 May 2021

Wexford set up All-Ireland quarter-final with Davy Fitz's native Clare following win over Westmeath

David Dunne and Conor McDonald hit the goals as they ran out 2-21 to 0-16 winners.

Image: Laszlo Geczo/INPHO

Westmeath 0-16

Wexford 2-21

WEXFORD BOOKED THEIR All-Ireland SHC quarter-final place this evening, with Davy Fitzgerald’s side comfortable winners over Westmeath — who gave a good account of themselves despite defeat.

11 points was probably a fair reflection on the game, with Wexford always in control but some sloppy play will frustrate Fitzgerald with Wexford hitting 14 wides throughout.

Aidan Nolan was outstanding for Wexford throughout the game and assisted full-forward David Dunne for the game’s opening goal, as the Davidstown-Courtnacuddy star made no mistake with the finish to the back of the net.

A superb save from Paddy Carroll denied Paudie Foley before the interval, keeping the Lake County in the game and further scores saw the gap just seven points.

The scoreboard read 1-12 to 0-8 in favour of Wexford at half time.

Lee Chin opened the second-half scoring with a free, but three points in-a-row from the Lake County left the difference at five points.

Conor McDonald then found the net with a great finish in the 46th minute to leave the gap at eight and Wexford looked set to push on and win easily at that stage.

Davy Fitzgerald signs autographs after the game Source: Laszlo Geczo/INPHO

Westmeath never gave up though to their credit, with both sides cancelling each other out a lot heading into the final stages.

Joey Boyle’s 63rd-minute effort proved to be his sides last score of the game as the Model County pushed on four further scores courtesy of Harry Kehoe (2), Liam Ryan and Shane Tompkins to ease into the quarter-finals where they will face Davy Fitzgerald’s native county Clare.

Scorers for Westmeath: A Devine 0-8 (7f), A Clarke 0-2, E Price 0-2, C Boyle, J Boyle, D McNicholas and C Doyle 0-1 each.

Scorers for Wexford: L Chin (0-7 6f, 1 “65”), A Nolan 0-4, C McDonald and D Dunne 1-1 each, H Kehoe 0-2, L Ryan, P Morris, J O’Connor, D O’Keefe, S Murphy and S Tompkins 0-1 each.


1. Paddy Carroll (St. Brigids)
2.Conor Shaw (Brownstown)
3. Tommy Doyle (Lough Lene Gaels)
4. John Gilligan (Fr. Dalton’s)

5. Shane Clavin (Castletown-Geoghegan)
6. Paul Greville (Raharney)
9.Aonghus Clarke (Castletown-Geoghegan)

8. Eoin Price (Clonkill)
7. Derek McNicholas (Lough Lene Gaels)
10.Robbie Greville (Raharney)
11. Ciaran Doyle (Raharney)
12. Cormac Boyle (Raharney)

13. Niall O’Brien (Castletown-Geoghegan)
14. Niall Mitchell (Clonkill)
15. Allan Devine (Castlepollard).


Joey Boyle (Raharney) for McNicholas (44)
Liam Varley (Castletown-Geoghegan) for Cormac Boyle (55)
Darragh Clinton (Delvin) for Ciaran Doyle (59)
Aaron Craig (St. Oliver Plunkett’s Mullingar) for Shaw (68).


1. Mark Fanning (Glynn-Barntown)

2. Damien Reck (Olygate-Glenbrien)
3. Liam Ryan (Rapparees)
4. Simon Donohue (Shelmaliers)

5. Paudie Foley (Crossabeg-Ballymurn)
6. Matthew O’Hanlon (St. James)
7. Diarmuid O’Keefe (St. Anne’s)

8. Kevin Foley (Rapparees)
9. Shaun Murphy (Oulart- The Ballagh)

10. Lee Chin (Faythe Harriers)
11. Aidan Nolan (HWH Bunclody)
12. Jack O’Connor (St. Martins)

13. Paul Morris (Ferns St. Aidan’s)
14. David Dunne (Davidstown-Courtnacuddy)
15. Conor McDonald (Naomh Eanna).


Liam Og McGovern (St. Anne’s) for Morris (43)
Willie Devereaux (St. Martin’s) for O’Keefe (54)
Harry Kehoe (Cloughbawn) for Chin (61)
Shane Tompkins (Askamore) for O’Connor (61)
Eanna Martin (Carrickshock) for Reck (69).

Referee: Diarmuid Kirwan (Cork).

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

About the author:

Conor McKenna

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel