Wednesday 8 February 2023 Dublin: 8°C
S&G and Barratts/EMPICS Sport
# Top of the Hill
Cycling book wins prestigious William Hill Sports Book of the Year prize
Cyclist Beryl Burton’s incredible story is focus of winning book.

JEREMY WILSON’S BOOK Beryl: In Search of Britain’s Greatest Athlete, Beryl Burton has won this year’s prestigious William Hill sports book of the year.

It is a story of triumph in adversity as Yorkshire woman, Burton, overcame childhood illness to rise to the top of the sport.

The book beat off competition from a strong field which included another cycling book, God is Dead: The Rise and Fall of Frank Vandenbroucke, Cycling’s Great Wasted Talent by Andy McGrath.

Chair of the judges’ panel, Alyson Rudd, said: “Following a record-breaking year for the Award, we had five incredible books on the shortlist.

“It was great to see two first-time authors on the shortlist alongside two former shortlisted authors – one of whom won the Award – which will provide inspiration and encouragement for budding writers.”

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

Now in its 34th year, the award is dedicated to rewarding excellence in sports writing and provides authors and publishers a platform to showcase and promote their book.

The first William Hill Sports Book of the Year Award took place in 1989, earning it the title of the longest-established competition in the industry, and since launching, has attracted thousands of authors and publishers including Nick Hornby, Marcus Trescothick and Brian Moore, as well as Ireland’s Paul Kimmage.

The winner was declared at an official award ceremony at BAFTA 195 Piccadilly, London. The Award has a £30,000 cash prize for the winner.

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment

    Leave a commentcancel