Dublin: 11°C Tuesday 3 August 2021

World Rugby Player of the Year nominees revealed

However, no Irish player makes the shortlist.

Image: Adam Davy

DAVID POCOCK, DAN Carter and Julian Savea are among the six players nominated for World Rugby’s Player of the Year 2015.

There’s no room for an Irish player on the shortlist, however, with Alun Wyn Jones, Michael Hooper and Scotland’s Greg Laidlaw making up the rest.

New Zealand out-half Carter is a two-time winner of the the award and will play his final test for the All Blacks when they take on Australia in Saturday’s World Cup final where he’ll line-up alongside Savea whose eight RWC tries this year equals the previous record.

They’ll face Australia’s Hooper and Pocock in tomorrow’s decider. Hooper is the youngest of the six nominees and is the second youngest player to reach 50 Test caps. His team-mate Pocock is nominated for the third time.

World Rugby Chairman Bernard Lapasset said:

“The World Rugby Player of the Year Award is the most prestigious award in the men’s game and there were several players in the frame for the shortlist, reflecting not just a great year for rugby, but the most compelling and competitive Rugby World Cup to date.

“Each player thoroughly deserves their nomination and I am sure that the panel will have much to think about over the next couple of days as they determine who will be the recipient of this wonderful accolade.”

The winner will be announced on 1 November.

Referee’s tale of the whistle, the whisky and the shotgun

‘It’s better to switch off from it completely’ – World Cup now at the back of Iain Henderson’s mind

About the author:

Steve O'Rourke

Read next: