Youghal manager Christy Cooney - file photo. INPHO/James Crombie

Ex-GAA President helps steer Youghal to Munster intermediate hurling title

The Cork club were crowned champions in Mallow today while there were also intermediate finals in Connacht.

Munster IHC final

CORK CLUB YOUGHAL are celebrating tonight after winning the AIB Munster intermediate hurling title today against Tipperary side Ballina by 2-13 to 2-10.

The East Cork club claimed a three-point success in the final played at Mallow with former GAA President Christy Cooney their manager on the line as they savoured provincial glory

Youghal, who had defeated Waterford’s Ardmore and Clare’s Whitegate to reach this stage, were ahead by 2-6 to 1-7 at the break after an evenly-contested first-half of action.

Ollie Dempsey gave Youghal a great start when he found the net and Brendan Ring and James O’Mahony were amongst the point scorers as they lead by 1-5 to 0-5 after the first quarter.

But Ballina bounced back with Michael Breen, an All-Ireland minor hurling winner with Tipperary last year, on target with a point and then Stephen Stritch grabbed a goal in the 18th minute.

However Youghal were in front at half-time thanks to a goal from Damien Ring which edged them two points ahead.

Ballina battled away in the second-half with Donal McKeogh firing home their second goal in the 44th minute. A point from Stephen O’Brien, another recent inter-county All-Ireland minor winner, left Ballina trailing by 2-10 to 2-9 with 13 minutes remaining.

But it was Youghal who finished stronger as they pulled clear to engineer a three-point victory. They now advance to the All-Ireland series with a quarter-final date in December against London champions St Gabriel’s set to be their first assignment.


The Youghal team (file photo)
Pic: INPHO/James Crombie

Connacht Titles

Mayo club Kiltane were crowned Connacht intermediate football champions today with a 3-10 to 2-4 success against Roscommon outfit Boyle at Elverys MacHale Park in Castlebar.

The winners started brightly with Sean Gaughan grabbing a goal to help them lead 1-3 to 0-1 after 11 minutes. They were in front by 1-6 to 1-3 at the break with Mark O’Connor hitting back for Boyle with a goal.

The second-half was dominated by Kiltane with Martin Gallagher and Mikey Sweeney adding further goals as they ran out winners by nine points.

Meanwhile Galway’s Kilnadeema-Leitrim won the Connacht intermediate hurling title with a 1-14 to 2-9 success against Mayo’s Tooreen in Athleague.

Former Galway senior hurler David Tierney netted in the first-half to help them lead by 1-4 to 0-4 at the break.

Kilnadeema-Leitrim controlled the second-half but had to withstand a fightback from Tooreen that yielded two goals from Kenny Feeney before eventually winning out.

Cratloe win Munster semi-final…24 hours after winning first Clare title

Sixmilebridge reach Munster senior hurling final with win over Midleton

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.