The42 uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Wednesday 25 April, 2018

Poll: Who will win the All-Ireland senior hurling title in 2018?

It’s a wide open race for Liam MacCarthy.

THE HURLING LANDSCAPE hasn’t looked this open since the 1990s.

David Burke lifts the Liam McCarthy cup Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Galway start 2018 as All-Ireland champions but there are plenty of pretenders to the throne.

Tipperary, Waterford, Kilkenny and Cork all harbour genuine ambitions of taking home the Liam MacCarthy Cup, while the likes of Wexford, Limerick, Clare and Dublin are further down the pecking order and shouldn’t be written off just yet.

The 2017 campaign saw a levelling out of the teams in hurling’s premier competition, with Tipperary and Kilkenny looking fallible, while Cork and Wexford made signifcant leaps forward, and Galway bringing a much-needed steel and consistency into their game.

What we want to know is: who’ll be celebrating on the steps of the Hogan Stand next August?

Poll Results:

The42 has just published its first book, Behind The Lines, a collection of some of the year’s best sports stories. Pick up your copy in Eason’s, or order it here today (€10):

“He’s pushing my buttons now… ‘Come on to f**k Gooch, we’ll do a bit extra’”

The young and the restless: 10 young hurlers who burst onto the scene in 2017

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

Leave a commentcancel