Record Setters

Alan Dillon and Andy Moran created a slice of history in their Mayo careers yesterday

The long-serving pair claimed yet another Connacht medal.

Alan Dillon and Andy Moran Mayo's Alan Dillon and Andy Moran James Crombie / INPHO James Crombie / INPHO / INPHO

ANOTHER CONNACHT SENIOR football crown was picked up by Mayo yesterday as they completed the provincial five-in-a-row in style by demolishing Sligo by 26 points.

And for the long-serving pair of Alan Dillon and Andy Moran, it was a special success as they created a slice of history in their Mayo careers.

Ballintubber’s Dillon came on as a half-time substitute for Ballaghaderreen’s Moran with the ultimate victory ensuring they will collect their 8th Connacht senior medal.

They join Dermot Flanagan and Liam McHale as the Mayo players with the most Connacht senior medals to their name.

Dillon and Moran first won out back in 2004 in Connacht, they added further wins in 2006 and 2009 before the five-in-a-row between 2011 and 2015.

They may be back next year to aim for a historic ninth title but before then the focus will be on trying to finally ending Mayo’s long wait for the All-Ireland triumph.

H/T: @DaveMcIntyreNT

Poll: Who do you now think will lift Sam Maguire in 2015?

Do you agree with The Sunday Game’s man-of-the-match selections?

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.