Roscommon's Dr Hyde Park to host Friday night All-Ireland minor football final

Galway and Mayo will contest the decider in July.

Roscommon's Dr Hyde Park.
Roscommon's Dr Hyde Park.
Image: Laszlo Geczo/INPHO

THE ALL-IRELAND minor football final will be held at Dr Hyde Park in Roscommon, as Galway and Mayo do battle in the showpiece on Friday, 7 July [Throw-in, 7.15pm].

The sides will be squaring off again after previously meeting in the Connacht final where Mayo prevailed with a six-point win earlier this month.

Galway rallied from that defeat to overcome Dublin and Derry to book a spot in the All-Ireland decider. Mayo accounted for Kildare and Kerry on their way to the showpiece.

There will be extra-time and penalties on the night to determine a winner if necessary.

Galway are aiming to win the All-Ireland minor championship for the first time since 2007 while Mayo last captured in the title in 2013.

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel