Dublin: 9°C Tuesday 28 September 2021

Mayo hand out two league debuts for next Sunday's clash with Kildare

Andy Moran will captain the side managed by James Horan.

Andy Moran will captain Mayo on Sunday.
Andy Moran will captain Mayo on Sunday.
Image: INPHO/James Crombie

MAYO HAVE NAMED two newcomers in their side for Sunday’s Division 1 football league opener against Kildare.

Brendan Harrison from Aghamore and Adam Gallagher  from Mayo Gaels will make their senior league debuts for the county. Harrison is named at left half-back for the trip to Newbridge while Gallagher is selected at left half-forward.

Injuries and club commitments (both Castlebar Mitchels and Kiltane are currently in All-Ireland club action), have prompted James Horan to experiment with his starting fifteen.

Eight members of the side that started last September’s All-Ireland final – Rob Hennelly, Ger Cafferkey, Colm Boyle, Lee Keegan, Aidan O’Shea, Keith Higgins, Kevin McLoughlin and Andy Moran – are included for Sunday’s game.

Moran has been confirmed as Mayo captain for the coming season with Keegan and Cillian O’Connor the joint vice-captains. Tom Parsons is a notable inclusion in the Mayo side at midfield.

MAYO: Rob Hennelly (Breaffy); Kevin Keane (Westport), Ger Cafferkey (Ballina Stephenites), Colm Boyle (Davitts); Lee Keegan (Westport), Shane McHale (Knockmore), Brendan Harrison (Aghamore); Tom Parsons (Charlestown Sarsfields), Aidan O’Shea (Breaffy); Cathal Carolan (Crossmolina), Keith Higgins (Ballyhaunis), Adam Gallagher (Mayo Gaels); Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore), Andy Moran (Ballaghaderreen), Darren Coen (Hollymount/Carramore).

Setback for Galway footballers as defender Colin Forde emigrates

Rossies favourite Karol Mannion calls it a day

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel