This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 9 °C Tuesday 26 March, 2019

Castlebar Mitchels to renew local rivalry in Mayo SFC final after replay win over Garrymore

After last Sunday’s draw, two goals powered Castlebar into this weekend’s final.

Image: James Crombie/INPHO

Castlebar Mitchels 2-14
Garrymore 0-12

Colm Gannon reports from MacHale Park

CASTLEBAR MITCHELS WILL renew their local rivalry with Ballintubber in the Mayo Senior Football Championship final on Sunday following their semi-final replay win over Garrymore.

First-half goals from Neil Douglas and Danny Kirby set up the Mitchels victory, with the sides having drawn 1-11 apiece in their original clash last Sunday.

Douglas’ goal, 11 minutes in, came at the end of a flowing move in which Paddy Durcan picked out David Stenson with a superb pass. Stenson fed Douglas on the overlap with the latter driving the ball home past Brian Lynskey.

That goal put Mitchels up 1-3 to 0-1, and they were looking good. It got even better for them over the next few minutes, firstly with David Stenson popping one over from play. Then, from the resulting kick-out, Danny Kirby forced his man to drop the ball, collecting possession and playing a one-two with Douglas before hitting the back of Lynskey’s net.

Garrymore didn’t give up easily; they kicked seven points to Mitchels’ four over the remainder of the half, with Mark Tierney, Cathal Slattetry and Jimmy Killeen kicking two points each during that burst to leave the score 2-8 to 0-8 in favour of Castlebar at the break.

The first 15 minutes of the second half saw the teams go score-for-score, hitting four points each, with Stenson and Killeen taking their personal tallies to five each by the three-quarter mark.

Any chance of a Garrymore comeback was finally quenched by scores from Stenson and Kirby to put Mitchels eight clear. By the final whistle, they were already looking forward to Ballintubber on Sunday.


Castlebar Mitchels: David Stenson(0-6,3f),Danny Kirby (1-3) Neil Douglas (1-2, 1f), Barry Moran, Paddy Durcan and Donie Newcombe (0-1 each)
Garrymore: Jimmy Killeen (0-5, 1f) Mark Tierney (0-3,1f), Cathal Slattery (0-2), Gary Golden and Trevor Nally (0-1 each)


1. Rory Byrne

2. Johnny Maughan
3. Ger McDonagh
4. Donie Newcombe

5. Ray O’Malley
6. Paddy Durcan
17. Shane Irwin

8. Danny Kirby
9. Eoghan O’Reilly

20. James Durcan
11. Barry Moran
12. Cian Costello

13. David Stenson
14. Neil Douglas
19. Aidan Walsh

Subs: 10. Anthony O’Boyle for Walsh; 7. Niall McCarney for Irwin; 21. Callum Kyne for Moran; 25. Mark Towey for O’Malley; 18. Conor Stenson for James Durcan


1. Brian Lynskey

2. James King
3. Jamie Oates
4. Patrick Hession

5. Trevor Nally
6. Kieran Cunningham
7. Micheal Connolly

8. Brendan Cunningham
9. Shane Nally

10. Gary Golden
28. Caolan Crowe
22. Cathal Slattery

13. Jimmy Killeen
14. Myles Fallon
15. Mark Tierney

Subs: 12. Darren Quinn for Fallon

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

Cora’s focus on Carnacon first, Oz venture second but Mayo decision still to be made

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Colm Gannon

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel